2010 All-ACC Academic Women's Lacrosse Team Announced

July 6, 2010

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Women’s Lacrosse Scholar-Athlete of the Year Caitlyn McFadden of Maryland highlights the 2010 All-Atlantic Coast Conference Academic team as announced today by Commissioner John Swofford.

Named as the Most Outstanding Player at the NCAA Division I Lacrosse Championship, McFadden led Maryland to a 22-1 record and its 10th national championship in 2010. A first team All-America selection, she started every game during her college career and scored 149 goals with 110 assists for 259 points. The sixth-leading scorer in school history, she was named All-Atlantic Coast Conference three times and was the ACC Player of the Year twice. A kinesiology major, she scored two goals and an assist in the Terrapins’ 13-11 win over five-time champion Northwestern in the national championship game. A two-year captain, the Phoenix, Md., native scored 50 goals with 35 assists as a senior while leading the Terrapins to their first national title since 2001. In addition, McFadden was honored as the winner of the Tewaaraton Award as the top women’s player in college lacrosse.

Fifteen student-athletes were repeat honorees from the 2009 All-ACC Academic team, while 10 student-athletes who earned All-Conference honors this past season also secured spots on the 2010 All-ACC Academic Women’s Lacrosse team. Joining McFadden as honorees who earned both All-ACC Academic as well as All-Conference in 2010 are Boston College’s Lauren Costello and Kristin Igoe, Duke’s Sarah Bullard, Lindsay Gilbride, Danielle Kachulis and Kat Thomas, Maryland’s Katie Schwarzmann, North Carolina’s Corey Donohoe and Virginia’s Liz Downs.

All six ACC programs were represented on this year’s academic squad. Duke placed at least eight student-athletes on the team for the fifth-consecutive year, while Maryland and North Carolina each had six listed on this year’s academic roster. Boston College followed closely with five honorees, while rounding out the 30-member team with three and two recipients, respectively, was Virginia and Virginia Tech.

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards were established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports. Candidates for the award must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average for their career as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters.

To be eligible for consideration for the All-ACC Academic team, a student-athlete, regardless of classification, must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during his academic career.

The 2010 All-ACC Academic Women’s Lacrosse team is as follows:

Name, Class, Major, School
Hannah Alley, Jr., Communications, Boston College
Lauren Costello, Sr., Communications, Boston College #
Kristin Igoe, Jr., Biochemistry, Boston College
Peyton Killeen, Sr., Communications, Boston College
Jillian Rekart, Jr., Nursing, Boston College
Sarah Bullard, Jr., Sociology, Duke #
Kaitlin Gaiss, Fr., Undeclared, Duke
Sara Giedgowd, Sr., Sociology, Duke !
Lindsay Gilbride, Sr., Psychology, Duke
Jillian Heinz, Sr., Public Policy Studies, Duke
Danielle Kachulis, Jr., Art History, Duke #
Christie Kaestner, Jr., Sociology, Duke
Kat Thomas, So., Int. Comp. Studies, Duke !
Abby Caso, Sr., Finance, Economics & Accounting, Maryland
Brittany Jones, Sr., International Business, Maryland !
Caitlyn McFadden, Sr., Kinesiology, Maryland &
Laura Merrifield, Jr., Kinesiology, Maryland #
Katie Schwarzmann, Fr., Undeclared, Maryland
Amanda Spinnenweber, Sr., Family Science, Maryland #
Kara Cannizzaro, Fr., Undeclared, North Carolina
Taylor Chumney, Jr., Business Admin., North Carolina !
Corey Donohoe, Jr., Exercise & Sport Science, North Carolina #
Meredith Newton, Jr., Biology & Psychology, North Carolina !
Kristen Taylor, Sr., Business Admin., North Carolina &
Laura Zimmerman, So., Business Admin., North Carolina
Liz Downs, Jr., Art History, Virginia
Josie Owen, So., Undecided, Virginia !
Caitlin Whiteley, Sr., History, Virginia
Alexandra Emala, Jr., Human Development, Virginia Tech #
Jessica Nonn, So., Psychology, Virginia Tech
& Four-time honoree; # Three-time honoree; ! Two-time honoree