2012 All-ACC Academic Women's Lacrosse Team Announced

June 27, 2012

GREENSBORO, N.C. (theACC.com) - ACC Women's Lacrosse Scholar-Athlete of the Year Katie Schwarzmann of Maryland highlights the 2012 All-Atlantic Coast Conference Academic team as announced by the conference office.

Schwarzmann, a junior business major from Sykesville, Md., adds the lofty award to an already stout resume which includes the 2012 Tewaaraton Award, given annually to the top female college lacrosse player in the United States. The six-time Dean's List student and team captain was named an IWLCA First Team All-American and All-Atlantic Coast Conference honoree. Schwarzmann was also crowned the 2012 ACC Offensive Player of the Year and ACC Championship Most Valuable Player after leading the Terps to their unprecedented fourth consecutive conference title. Schwarzmann ranked second and fifth, respectively, in the nation in goals (72) and points (94), and established career bests in goals, assists (22), points, and draw controls (52) in 2012.

Fifteen student-athletes were repeat All-ACC Academic team honorees, while 10 student-athletes who earned All-Conference honors this past season also secured spots on the 2012 All-ACC Academic Women's Lacrosse Team. Joining Schwarzmann as honorees who earned both All-ACC Academic as well as All-Conference in 2012 are Boston College's Kristin Igoe, Duke's Emma Hamm, Mollie Mackler, and Kim Wenger, North Carolina's Kara Canizzaro, Abbey Friend and Laura Zimmerman, Virginia's Josephine Owen, and Virginia Tech's Jessica Nonn.

All six ACC programs were represented on this year's academic squad. Duke had a league leading eight selections, Virginia and Virginia Tech had six, while Boston College and North Carolina had five student-athletes selected. Maryland added four to round out the 34-member roster.

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year honor was established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports. Candidates for the award must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average for their career as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters.

To be eligible for consideration for the All-ACC Academic team, a student-athlete, regardless of classification, must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during her academic career.

The 2012 All-ACC Academic Women's Lacrosse team is as follows:

Name, Class, Major, School
Moira Barry, So., Psychology, Boston College !
Claire Blohm, So., Biology, Boston College
Sara Blue, Jr., Communication, Boston College
Caroline Ceglarski, So., Psychology/HD, Boston College
Kristin Igoe, GS, Curriculum & Instruction-Biology, Boston College #
Emma Hamm, GS., Management, Duke &
Makenzie Hommel, Jr., Sociology, Duke
Mollie Mackler, Sr., Psychology, Duke !
Maddy Morrissey, So., Psychology, Duke
Kim Wenger, Sr., Art History, Duke
Taylor Virden, So., Visual & Media Studies, Duke !
Molly Quirke, So., Public Policy, Duke !
Taylor Trimble, Fr., Undeclared, Duke
Kristy Black, Sr., Hearing and Speech Science, Maryland
Melissa Diepold, Jr., Education, Maryland
Bria Phillips, Sr., Business, Maryland
Katie Schwarzmann, Jr., Business, Maryland #
Kara Canizzaro, Jr., Communication Studies, North Carolina !
Abbey Friend, So., Exercise and Sport Science, North Carolina !
Taylor George, So., Journalism and Mass Comm., North Carolina
Caleigh Sindall, Fr., Exercise and Sport Science, North Carolina
Laura Zimmerman, Sr., Business Admin., North Carolina #
Ainsley Baker, Sr., Educational Psychology, Virginia
Liza Blue, So., Undeclared, Virginia
Megan Dunleavy, Jr., Economics, Virginia !
Daniela Eppler, Fr., Undecided, Virginia
Josie Owen, Sr., History, Virginia &
Sloan Warren, Fr., Undeclared, Virginia
Charlotte Marsh, Jr., Biology, Virginia Tech
Brooke Martin, Jr., Comm.-Public Relations, Virginia Tech !
Jessica Nonn, Sr., Psychology, Virginia Tech #
Elizabeth Rosebro, Jr., Studio Art, Virginia Tech
Ryan Rotanz, Sr., Human Development, Virginia Tech !
Megan Will, Fr., Human Development, Virginia Tech
& Four-time honoree; # Three-time honoree; ! Two-time honoree