Maryland's Schwarzmann Wins Tewaaraton Award

June 1, 2012

WASHINGTON, D.C. ( & staff reports) – Maryland junior Katie Schwarzmann became the third Terrapin to win the Tewaaraton Award, given annually to the top player in women’s lacrosse, Thursday at the National Museum of the American Indian. She is also the fifth player from an ACC school to earn the award in its 12-year history.

Schwarzmann adds the lofty award to an already stout resume. The Sykesville, Md., native is a two-time IWLCA First Team All-American and three-time All-Atlantic Coast Conference honoree.

The junior captain was crowned 2012 ACC Offensive Player of the Year and ACC Championship Most Valuable Player after leading the Terps to their unprecedented fourth consecutive conference title. Schwarzmann racked up a tournament-record 11 goals in a three-game span at the championship.

Schwarzmann ranked second and fifth, respectively, in the nation in goals (72) and points (94). She established career bests in goals, assists (22), points, and draw controls (52) in 2012. Her goal tally is the fifth-highest mark in Maryland single-season history and her 94 points rank ninth.

The two-time Tewaaraton finalist scored in all 23 games this season and notched three or more goals in 17 contests. She averaged 3.19 goals and 4.09 points per game for Maryland, which reached the national semifinals for the fourth straight season in 2012.

She is also quickly moving up Maryland’s career goals list. Her 170 goals in a mere three seasons in College Park rank sixth all-time in Terrapin history.

Schwarzmann joins Jen Adams (2001) and Caitlyn McFadden (2010) as student-athletes from the University of Maryland to capture the Tewaaraton, an award given annually since 2001 to honor the nation's top male and female collegiate lacrosse player for their extraordinary achievements on the field.

Tewaaraton Award -- All-Time Winners from ACC Schools
2012 – Katie Schwarzmann, Maryland
2010 -- Caitlyn McFadden, Maryland
2005 -- Katie Chrest, Duke
2004 -- Amy Appelt, Virginia
*2001 -- Jen Adams, Maryland
*denotes first year award given