Twenty-five ACC Women's Lacrosse Student-Athletes Named to IWLCA All-Region Teams

May 29, 2010

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Twenty-five Atlantic Coast Conference women’s lacrosse student-athletes were named to the Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) all-region teams as announced by the organization Friday morning.

The league's 14 first-team honorees were led by Maryland senior midfielder and two-time ACC Player of the Year Caitlyn McFadden, Virginia senior midfielder Brittany Kalkstein and North Carolina senior midfielder Jenn Russell. All three are finalists for the 2010 Tewaaraton Trophy and were listed on this year's South Region first team roster.

Eleven student-athletes earned second-team accolades, comprising the total of 25 ACC selections. Five of the league's six ACC women's lacrosse programs were represented between the North and South regions.

Each student-athlete named to the all-region squad is now eligible for inclusion on the IWLCA All-America teams, which will be announced on Monday, May 31. The IWLCA will honor the National All-Americans at the IWLCA All-American banquet on June 12, 2010 at the Crowne Plaza Valley Forge in King of Prussia, Pa.

A list of the ACC women’s lacrosse student-athletes honored with all-region recognition is listed below.

North Region First Team
Lauren Costello, A Boston College, Sr.
Kristin Igoe, M, Boston College, Jr.

North Region Second Team
Brooke Blue, A, Boston College, Fr.
Jillian Rekart, D, Boston College, Jr.

South Region First Team
Sarah Bullard, M, Duke University, Jr.
Kristen Carr, D, University of North Carolina, Sr.
Corey Donohoe, A, University of North Carolina, Jr.
Kaitlin Duff, M, University of Virginia, Sr.
Lindsay Gilbride, A, Duke University, Sr.
Karri Ellen Johnson, A, University of Maryland, So.
Brittany Kalkstein, M, University of Virginia, Sr.
Caitlyn McFadden, M, University of Maryland, Sr.
Sarah Mollison, A, University of Maryland, Jr.
Logan Ripley, GK, University of North Carolina, Sr.
Jenn Russell, M, University of North Carolina, Sr.
Karissa Taylor, D, University of Maryland, Sr.

South Region Second Team
Lauren Benner, GK, University of Virginia, Sr.
Megan Bosica, M, University of North Carolina, Sr.
Liz Downs, D, University of Virginia, Jr.
Mia Hurrin, D, University of North Carolina, Jr.
Danielle Kachulis, D, Duke University, Sr.
Christie Kaestner, A, Duke University, Jr.
Katie Schwarzmann, M, University of Maryland, Fr.
Kat Thomas, M, Duke University, So.
Caity Whiteley, A, University of Virginia, Sr.