Maryland Student-Athletes Earn Top ACC Women's Lacrosse Accolades

May 14, 2010

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Maryland senior Caitlyn McFadden headlines the 2010 ACC Women’s Lacrosse individual postseason honors, as announced by the league office on Friday. The two-time Tewaaraton Trophy finalist, 2009 National Midfielder of the Year, and two-time Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) All-American is recognized as the 2010 ACC Player of the Year, alongside teammate and newcomer Katie Schwarzmann, who earns 2010 ACC Freshman of the Year.

McFadden, a finalist for the 2010 Tewaaraton Trophy, an award annually given out to the nation's top women's lacrosse player, has tallied at least one point in 44 consecutive games, the 11th-longest active streak in the nation. The Phoenix, Md., native is also among the NCAA Div. I career active leaders in goals, assists and points and ranks fifth in assists and eighth in points on Maryland’s all-time career list. This season, the two-time captain for the 18-1 Terrapins ranks either No. 1 or No. 2 in nearly every statistical category for Maryland – points (2nd, 67), goals (2nd, 37), assists (1st, 30), shots (2nd, 94), shots on goal (2nd, 69), and caused turnovers (1st, 25).

McFadden was also tabbed ACC Women's Lacrosse Tournament Most Valuable Player for the second-consecutive year after notching five points on a hat trick and grabbing two assists as Maryland defeated top-seeded North Carolina for its second-straight conference championship. The Player of the Year honor marks the fifth time in ACC women’s lacrosse history that it has been given to the same person who won the league’s championship MVP. In addition, McFadden is only the fourth student-athlete in ACC women’s lacrosse history to be titled Player of the Year twice. Maryland’s Jen Adams (2000 & 2001), Duke’s Katie Chrest (2005 & 2006), and Maryland’s Dana Dobbie (2007 & 2008) were the other three.

Schwarzmann, a dynamic two-way midfielder, aided the top-ranked defense in the country in holding opponents to a mere 6.68 goals per game in 2010. The three-sport athlete in high school (soccer, lacrosse and basketball) registered her breakout game against then fifth-ranked Duke in the regular season, where she scored three goals and added an assist, five ground balls and three caused turnovers to drop the Blue Devils by the largest margin of victory in series history. The newcomer from Sykesville, Md., is currently tied for second on the team in game-winning goals (3) and ranks fourth on the Terrapin squad in scoring, assists, and shot percentage.

Maryland’s Cathy Reese, who is in her fourth season at the helm of the Terrapin program, and North Carolina’s Jenny Levy, who has led her Tar Heels for the past 15 years, share this year’s ACC Coach of the Year honor, an accolade that both accept for the third time at their respective alma maters. The Ellicott City, Md., native owns an impressive 78-9 record at Maryland, while her 2010 Terrapins squad boasted a league-high five all-conference picks and an ACC-best five all-tournament selections. Levy, who earned the league’s first-ever ACC Coach of the Year honor in 1997, collects her third coaching accolade after leading North Carolina to the top-seed in the ACC Tournament and a No. 1 ranking in late April after defeating Northwestern on the road, ending the Wildcats’ 41-game win streak and 58-game home winning streak.

The Atlantic Coast Conference received four bids to the upcoming NCAA Women’s Lacrosse Championship for the sixth consecutive year as ACC champion Maryland earned the league's highest seed and a No. 1 position in the postseason tournament. The Terrapins will play host to Marist at noon on Saturday, May 15. All first-round match-ups (Saturday and Sunday, May 15-16) and quarterfinal games (Saturday and Sunday, May 22-23) will be played on the campuses of competing institutions. The winners of the four quarterfinal games will advance to the semifinals and finals, which will be hosted by Towson University, May 28 and 30 at Johnny Unitas® Stadium in Towson, Md. The semifinal games will be broadcast live on CBS College Sports Network at 5:30 and 8 p.m. ET, Friday, May 28, while the championship game will be broadcast live at 5:30 p.m., Sunday, May 30.

2010 ACC Individual Honors
Player of the Year: Caitlyn McFadden, Maryland
Rookie of the Year: Katie Schwarzmann, Maryland
Co-Coaches of the Year: Cathy Reese, Maryland & Jenny Levy, North Carolina