ACC Announces 2011 Postseason Women's Lacrosse Individual Honors

May 12, 2011

GREENSBORO, N.C. - Maryland senior attacker Sarah Mollison headlined the 2011 ACC Women's Lacrosse individual postseason honors, as announced by the league office on Thursday. Mollison was recognized as the 2011 ACC Player of the Year alongside Terrapin leader Cathy Reese, who earned 2011 ACC Coach of the Year.

Mollison, who owns an impressive 64-game point-scoring streak, leads her Terps with 84 points in 2011. The senior ranks seventh all-time in career points at Maryland and third in assists. She is one of just two players nationally to boast 100 career points and assists. Mollison earned All-ACC recognition this season for the third-straight year, was tabbed to the 2011 ACC All-Tournament team after leading Terps to their third-consecutive title and was named ACC Offensive Player of the Week on April 5. The Melbourne, Australia, native has scored a goal in every game this season and racked up three or more points in 15 of the Terps' 19 contests. In addition, Mollison is second in assists and points per game in the ACC and leads the conference with six game-winning goals.

The ACC Player of the Year nod is the 10th all-time for the Maryland women's lacrosse program and marks the fifth-straight year the honor has gone to a Terrapin student-athlete.

Reese, who is in her fifth season at the helm of the Terrapin program, accepted her fourth ACC Coach of the Year honor and third-consecutive, after sharing the honor a season ago with North Carolina head coach Jenny Levy. The Ellicott City, Md., native owns an impressive 95-10 record at Maryland, including a 22-3 mark in league play. This season, Reese led her alma mater to its third consecutive ACC Championship crown, defeating the Tar Heels, 12-7, in the 2011 title match. She has kept her squad atop the national polls throughout the 2011 season, despite losing top-scorer Karri Ellen Johnson, the preseason National Player of the Year. Maryland, which earned a flawless 5-0 record in ACC action this season and an 18-1 mark overall, paced the nation in total points and scoring margin and ranks among the top five in scoring offense and scoring defense. In addition, 13 of the 19 opponents the Terps toppled this season have been ranked among the top 20 nationally.

North Carolina attacker Abbey Friend earned this year's ACC Freshman of the Year honor after finishing the 2011 regular season ranked second among league newcomers in both goals (29) and points (40), and led all ACC freshmen in assists (11). The rookie from Canandaigua, N.Y., immediately stepped into the Carolina lineup and became one of the top scorers in the ACC. Friend started all 18 contests this season for the Tar Heels, tallying 10 goals in ACC play. The Freshman of the Year selection marks the second-ever in UNC women's lacrosse history and first since 2000, when Betsy Gaines won the league honor.

The Atlantic Coast Conference received five bids to the upcoming NCAA Women's Lacrosse Championship, the seventh-consecutive year that the league was represented by at least four teams. ACC Tournament winner and defending national champion Maryland (18-1) earned the top seed in the upcoming Championship and will face off against Navy (15-5) in first-round action, Saturday, May 14, at noon at the Terrapins' Ludwig Field. The four quarterfinal games will be played Saturday, May 21, or Sunday, May 22. These preliminary-round games will be played on the campuses of competing institutions. The winners of the four quarterfinal games will advance to the semifinals and final hosted by Stony Brook University May 27 and 29 at Kenneth P. LaValle Stadium in Stony Brook, New York. The semifinal games will be streamed live in HD on at 5 and 7:30 p.m. Eastern time, Friday, May 27. The championship game will be streamed at 4 p.m., Sunday, May 29.

2011 ACC Individual Honors
Player of the Year: Sarah Mollison, Maryland
Rookie of the Year: Abbey Friend, North Carolina
Coach of the Year: Cathy Reese, Maryland