Four ACC Teams Earn NCAA Women's Lacrosse Championship Bids.

May 9, 2010

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( - Four Atlantic Coast Conference women's lacrosse teams were among the 16 programs selected to compete in the 2010 NCAA Division I Women's Lacrosse Championship as announced Sunday evening. Maryland, North Carolina, Virginia, and Duke will compete for the national championship beginning with first-round games on Saturday and Sunday, May 15 & 16.

Maryland (18-1) earned the top seed in the upcoming NCAA Championship and will face-off against Marist (10-7) in first-round action, Saturday, May 15, at noon at the Terrapins' Ludwig Field. The postseason bid is Maryland's nation-best 26th all-time and 21st consecutive. The Terps also boast the best all-time NCAA Division I Tournament record with a 39-16 mark. The No. 1 seed is Maryland's first since 2001, the last time the Terrapins brought home the NCAA women's lacrosse title.

Making its sixth consecutive NCAA Tournament appearance is North Carolina (15-2), which earned a No. 3 seed in the Tournament and will host Navy (17-3) on Saturday, May 15 at noon.

Virginia (13-5) earned an at-large bid to the upcoming tournament and will host Towson (13-4) in first-round action at Klöckner Stadium on Sunday, May 16 at either noon or 1 p.m. The Cavaliers earned the No. 6 seed and will bring a 28-19 postseason record into the contest. The at-large bid marks the 15th-straight year the Cavaliers have participated in the NCAA Tournament and 21st overall, participating in the second-most tournament games in the nation.

Duke (13-5) will extended its consecutive NCAA appearance streak to 13 after picking up an at-large bid and a No. 7 seed in this year's NCAA Tournament. The Blue Devils welcome Vanderbilt (12-5) to Durham for its first round contest on Sunday, May 16 at 2 p.m.

The four quarterfinal games will be played Saturday or Sunday, May 22 or 23, contests that will also be played on the campuses of competing institutions. The winners of the four quarterfinal games will advance to the semifinals and final hosted by Towson University, May 28 and 30 at Johnny Unitas® Stadium in Towson, Maryland.

The semifinal games will be broadcast live on CBS College Sports Network at 5:30 and 8 p.m. ET, Friday, May 28, while the championship game will be broadcast live at 5:30 p.m., Sunday, May 30.

Tickets for the semifinals and final can be purchased online at For additional information on the lacrosse championship please visit