Five #ACCWLax Teams Earn #NCAAWLax Championship Bids

May 8, 2011

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( - Five Atlantic Coast Conference women's lacrosse teams were among the 16 programs selected to compete in the 2011 NCAA Division I Women's Lacrosse Championship as announced Sunday evening. Boston College, Duke, Maryland, North Carolina, and Virginia will compete for the national championship beginning with first-round games on Saturday and Sunday, May 14 and 15.

Defending national champion Maryland (18-1) earned the top seed in the upcoming NCAA Championship and will face off against Navy (15-5) in first-round action, Saturday, May 14, at noon at the Terrapins' Ludwig Field. The postseason bid is Maryland's nation-best 27th all-time and 22nd consecutive. The Terps boast the best all-time NCAA Division I Tournament record with a 43-16 mark. The No. 1 seed is also Maryland's second consecutive, while the previous two times the squad earned the top spot, the Terrapins brought home NCAA titles.

Making its seventh consecutive NCAA Tournament appearance and 13th overall is North Carolina (13-5), which earned the No. 3 seed in the Tournament and will host ACC foe Virginia (9-8) on Saturday, May 14 at noon. The Tar Heels own a 14-12 all-time record in the postseason tournament and seek the programs' first-ever women's lacrosse national crown.

Virginia (9-8) received one of the eight at-large bids and will bring a 29-20 postseason record into the first-round contest against UNC. The tournament showing marks the 16th-straight year the Cavaliers have participated in the NCAA Tournament and 24th overall - the second-most tournament appearances in the field, behind only Maryland's 27. Virginia seeks the program's fourth-ever NCAA Tournament title - the last came in 2004 against Princeton.

Duke (13-4) will extend its consecutive NCAA appearance streak to 14 after picking up the No. 5 seed in this year's NCAA Tournament. The Blue Devils welcome Penn (11-5) to Durham for its first-round contest on Sunday, May 15 at 2 p.m. Duke owns a 14-13 all-time record in the Tournament and will look for the program's first-ever NCAA title.

Boston College (12-6) received the program's first-ever NCAA Women's Lacrosse Tournament bid as one of eight at-large selections announced on Sunday evening. The Eagles will travel to second-seeded Northwestern (17-2) for its first-round face off on Saturday, May 14 at 4 p.m. in Evanston, Ill.

In the 2010 championship, the Maryland Terrapins captured their sixth national championship title as a member of the ACC and 10th overall, defeating five-time defending champion Northwestern at Johnny Unitas Stadium in Towson, Maryland, in front of an NCAA championship game record crowd of 9,782, the largest crowd to ever see a women's lacrosse game in the United States.

The four quarterfinal games will be played Saturday, May 21, or Sunday, May 22. These preliminary-round games will be played on the campuses of competing institutions. The winners of the four quarterfinal games will advance to the semifinals and final hosted by Stony Brook University May 27 and 29 at Kenneth P. LaValle Stadium in Stony Brook, New York. The semifinal games will be streamed live in HD on at 5 and 7:30 p.m. Eastern time, Friday, May 27. The championship game will be streamed at 4 p.m., Sunday, May 29.

Tickets for the semifinals and final can be purchased online at: