Four ACC Teams Earn NCAA Women's Lacrosse Championship Bids

May 6, 2012

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( – Four Atlantic Coast Conference women’s lacrosse teams were among the 16 programs selected to compete in the 2012 NCAA Division I Women’s Lacrosse Championship as announced Sunday evening. Maryland, North Carolina, Duke, and Virginia will compete for the national championship beginning with first-round games on Saturday and Sunday, May 12 & 13.

Maryland (17-3) earned the third seed in the upcoming NCAA Championship and will face-off against Massachusetts (19-1) in first-round action, Saturday, May 12, at 2 p.m. at the Terrapins’ Field Hockey & Lacrosse Complex. The postseason bid is a nation-best 28th all-time and 23rd consecutive. The Terps have made 16 championship game appearances, won 10 NCAA titles, and hold the most all-time NCAA Division I Tournament victories with 49.

Making its eighth consecutive NCAA Tournament appearance is North Carolina (14-3), which earned a No. 5 seed in the Tournament and will host Navy (18-2) on Saturday, May 12 at noon. The Tar Heels hold an all-time NCAA Division I Tournament record of 16-13 and have made three consecutive appearances in semifinals of the NCAA Tournament, reaching the championship game in 2009.

Duke (11-6) extended its consecutive NCAA appearance streak to 15 after picking up an at-large bid and a No. 7 seed in this year’s NCAA Tournament. The Blue Devils hold an all-time NCAA Tournament record of 16-14 and have made six trips to the national semifinals. Duke will welcome Virginia (11-7) to Durham for its first round contest on Sunday, May 13 at 2 p.m.

The Cavaliers (11-7) at-large berth marks the 17th-consecutive year and 23rd overall that Virginia has participated in the NCAA Tournament. The Cavaliers have an all-time record of 29-21 in the postseason and won NCAA Championships in 1991, 1993 and 2004. Sunday marks the fifth time Duke and Virginia have met in the NCAA Tournament with the Cavaliers holding a 3-1 advantage. Virginia won the 2012 regular-season match-up in Durham, 14-12.

The four quarterfinal games will be played Saturday and Sunday, May 12 and 13 on the campuses of competing institutions. The winners of the four quarterfinal games will advance to the semifinals and final hosted by Stony Brook University, May 25 and 27 at Kenneth P. LaValle Stadium in Stony Brook, N.Y.

The semifinal games will be broadcast live on ESPN3 on Friday, May 25 at 5:30 p.m. and 8 p.m. while the championship game will be broadcast live on ESPNU and ESPN3 at 8 p.m. on Sunday, May 27.

For additional information on the lacrosse championship please visit