2013 All-ACC Women's Lacrosse Team Announced

April 24, 2013

GREENSBORO, N.C. (theACC.com) – Ten 2013 Tewaaraton Award candidates highlight the 20-member 2013 All-ACC Women’s Lacrosse Team, as announced today by the conference office. The team is determined by a vote of the league’s six head coaches.

Maryland, which finished off a perfect 17-0 regular season and is the top seed in this week’s tournament, is joined by Duke and North Carolina with a conference-leading five representatives. Virginia has three players recognized, and two Boston College Eagles garnered accolades.

Eight student-athletes earned repeat recognition. Maryland’s Katie Schwarzmann becomes the third player in league history to be named All-ACC four times in a career, joining Boston College’s Kristin Igoe and Maryland’s Karri Ellen Johnson. Boston College’s Covie Stanwick and Mikaela Rix, Maryland’s Alex Aust and Iliana Sanza, and North Carolina’s Abbey Friend, Kara Cannizzaro, and Sloane Serpe all were recognized for a second time. 

The 2013 ACC Women’s Lacrosse Championship gets underway Thursday with the quarterfinals at 1 and 3 p.m. at Fetzer Field at the University of North Carolina. The semifinals will be held at 1 and 3 p.m. on Friday, with the championship game on Sunday at 5 p.m. All five games can be seen on the league’s Regional Sports Networks, which include FOX Sports South, FOX Sports Florida, Comcast SportsNet Mid-Atlantic, and NESN. For more information on the ACC Championship, visit: http://theacc.co/WLaxChamp.

Individual awards, including Offensive Player, Defensive Player, Coach and Freshman of the Year, will be voted on by the league's head coaches following the ACC Championship.

2013 Women's Lacrosse All-ACC Team
Covie Stanwick* Sophomore Attack Boston College
Mikaela Rix* Sophomore Midfield Boston College
Kelsey Duryea Freshman Goalie Duke
Kerrin Maurer* Sophomore Attack Duke
Makenzie Hommel Senior Attack Duke
Taylor Trimble Sophomore Midfield Duke
Taylor Virden* Junior Defense Duke
Alex Aust* Senior Attack Maryland
Brooke Griffin R-Sophomore Midfield Maryland
Iliana Sanza* Senior Defense Maryland
Katie Schwarzmann* Senior Midfield Maryland
Taylor Cummings Freshman Midfield Maryland
Abbey Friend Junior Attack North Carolina
Brittney Coppa Junior Midfield North Carolina
Emily Garrity* Senior Midfield North Carolina
Kara Cannizzaro* Senior Midfield North Carolina
Sloane Serpe Junior Defense North Carolina
Courtney Swan Sophomore Midfield Virginia
Dana Boyle R-Sophomore Attack Virginia
Megan Dunleavy* Senior Defense Virginia
* 2013 Tewaaraton Award Candidates