ACC Women's Lacrosse Championship Gets Underway Thursday Afternoon

April 21, 2010

GREENSBORO, N.C.—The 2010 Atlantic Coast Conference Women’s Lacrosse Championship will begin tomorrow, Thursday, April 22 with a pair of games at Ludwig Field on the University of Maryland campus in College Park. Duke will meet Boston College in the opening contest at 2:30 p.m., while a Virginia vs. Virginia Tech match-up will follow at 5 p.m.

The winners of each game will advance to the semifinal round to face top-seeded North Carolina and second-seeded Maryland, respectively.

Maryland, North Carolina, and Virginia each concluded the regular season with 4-1 ACC records, and all three teams posted victories over Duke, Boston College, and Virginia Tech. According to the league’s seeding tie-breaking procedures, the Tar Heels earned the top spot in the three-day tournament after owning a plus-three goal differential between the tied teams. The Terrapins’ 11-5 victory over the Cavaliers on March 5th earned the second seed for Maryland in the upcoming event.

North Carolina (13-1, 4-1 ACC), which is the No. 1 team in the nation in both the Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association/Under Armour (IWLCA) and deBeer/Inside Lacrosse top-20 polls, will have a first-round bye and take on the winner of No. 4 seed Duke and No. 5 seed Boston College on Friday, April 23 at 2:30 p.m. North Carolina, which has won seven consecutive games, including an 18-16 victory over previously undefeated Northwestern, is led by a trio of Tewaaraton candidates in seniors Kristen Carr (M), Logan Ripley (GK), and Jenn Russell (M).

Maryland (14-1, 4-1 ACC), ranked third in both national polls and second in the country in points, will face the Virginia-Virginia Tech winner on Friday at 5 p.m. Terrapin sophomore Karri Ellen Johnson (A) and seniors Caitlin McFadden and Karissa Taylor, who are also Tewaaraton candidates, will guide Maryland in its semifinal round match-up.

Tewaaraton candidates Sarah Bullard (Jr., M) and Lindsay Gilbride (Sr., M) will lead the Blue Devils into its first-round match-up against Boston College. Bullard leads the fourth-ranked (IWLCA) Blue Devils and is fifth in the conference in scoring at 2.53 goals per game, while Gilbride’s 2.40 goals per game and 3.47 points per game each rank seventh.

Fifth-seeded and No. 16-ranked (Inside Lacrosse) Boston College (10-4, 1-4 ACC) will rely heavily on senior Lauren Costello (A), who ranks in the top four among all lacrosse players in the country with marks of 75 points (5.08 pg) and 35 assists (2.38 pg). Duke defeated the Eagles, 12-11, on April 10th earlier this season, and claimed a 16-5 first-round win in last season’s championship in the only postseason meeting between the two teams since Boston College joined the conference prior to the 2006 season.

Senior Brittany Kalkstein (M), another Tewaaraton candidate, will anchor a Virginia (12-3, 4-1 ACC) squad that enters the championship riding a six-game win streak. Kalkstein is averaging 1.87 goals per game and 1.07 assists per game, while junior goalkeeper Lauren Brenner has allowed 8.53 goals per game in 697 minutes.

Sixth-seeded Virginia Tech (6-10, 0-5 ACC) is led by sophomore Jessica Nonn (M) and her 2.06 goals per game average and junior Allie Emala (A), who adds 1.94 goals per game. Emala also provides a team-best 0.98 assists per game average. The Hokies were defeated by their in-state rivals, 20-14, on April 7th, and look for their first ACC championship victory since joining the league prior to the 2005 season. Virginia upended Virginia Tech, 13-5, in last season’s first round match-up.

All first round and semifinal games will be video-streamed live on ACCSelect, which you can find by visiting Sunday’s one o’clock championship will be telecast on Fox Sports as well as the league’s regional sports network.