2011 All-ACC Women's Lacrosse Team Announced

April 20, 2011

GREENSBORO, N.C. - Eleven 2011 Tewaaraton Trophy candidates highlight the 18-member 2011 All-Atlantic Coast Conference Women's Lacrosse Team, as announced by the league office on Wednesday.

Maryland enters this week's 2011 ACC Women's Lacrosse Championship with an undefeated mark of 15-0 on the season - one of only three flawless squads in the country (Loyola (Md.) and Albany), and led all league programs with six representatives named to the 2011 All-ACC team, one higher than last year's Terrapin tally. Duke, which earned the No. 2 seed in the upcoming league tournament and along with Maryland will enjoy a first-round bye, added four student-athletes to the list, which was determined by a vote of the ACC's six head coaches.

All six ACC women's lacrosse programs were represented on this year's postseason squad, while sophomore Terrapin midfielder Katie Schwarzmann is the lone underclassmen.

The 2011 Atlantic Coast Conference Women's Lacrosse Championship's opening face-off is Thursday, April 21, at WakeMed Soccer Park in Cary, N.C. For more information regarding the three-day event, or anything else related to ACC Women's Lacrosse, please visit http://www.theacc.com/championships/11-womens-lacrosse-championship.html.  

Individual awards, such as Player, Coach and Freshman of the Year, will be voted on by the league's head coaches following the last regular season game and announced by the league office in May.

2011 All-ACC Honorees
Kristin Igoe , Senior, Midfield, Boston College
Brittany Wilton, Junior, Attack, Boston College
Emma Hamm*, Junior, Attack, Duke
Christie Kaestner*, Senior, Attack, Duke
Kat Thomas*, Junior, Midfield, Duke
Kim Wenger, Junior, Midfield, Duke
Brittany Dipper*, Junior, Goalkeeper, Maryland
Katie Gallagher, Senior, Defense, Maryland
Karri Ellen Johnson*, Junior, Attack, Maryland
Laura Merrifield, Senior, Midfield, Maryland
Sarah Mollison*, Senior, Attack, Maryland
Katie Schwarzmann*, Sophomore, Midfield, Maryland
Corey Donohoe*, Senior, Attack, North Carolina
Mia Hurrin*, Senior, Defense, North Carolina
Laura Zimmerman*, Junior, Attack, North Carolina
Liz Downs*, Senior, Defense, Virginia
Julie Gardner, Junior, Attack, Virginia
Allie Emala, Senior, Attack, Virginia Tech
* 2011 Tewaaraton Trophy Candidates