2012 All-ACC Women's Lacrosse Team Announced

April 19, 2012

GREENSBORO, N.C. (theACC.com) – The first four-time honorees in the voting’s 16-year history are among the 18 student-athletes selected to the All-Atlantic Coast Conference Women’s Lacrosse Team for 2012, as determined by a vote of the ACC’s six head coaches. Of this year’s selections, 12 are candidates for the Tewaaraton Trophy, the sport’s highest individual honor.

Boston College midfielder Kristin Igoe, a graduate student from Franingham, Mass., and Maryland attacker Karri Ellen Johnson, a senior from Annapolis, Md., earned the acclaim for the fourth time in their careers, making ACC history.

North Carolina, which completed the ACC regular season undefeated (5-0), led all schools with five all-conference performers. Maryland had four representatives on the team, including Johnson, while Boston College had three representatives including Igoe and the All-ACC Team’s only freshmen, attacker Covie Stanwick and midfielder Mikaela Rix.

Duke had three honorees including Mollie Mackler, the lone goalie on the squad, while Virginia had two representatives, including Josie Owen, who leads the ACC in total points. Virginia Tech was represented by midfielder Jessica Nonn.

Honors for the ACC’s top player, freshman and coach will be released next month. The 2012 ACC Women’s Lacrosse Championship will take place on April 20, 21 and April 23 at Koskinen Stadium on the campus of Duke University. For more information on the championship or ACC Women’s Lacrosse, visit http://bit.ly/2012ACCWLax.

2012 All-ACC Honorees
Kristin Igoe GS Midfield Boston College
Mikaela Rix Fr. Midfield Boston College
Covie Stanwick Fr. Attacker Boston College
Emma Hamm Sr. Attacker Duke
Mollie Mackler Sr. Goalkeeper Duke
Kim Wenger Sr. Midfield Duke
Alex Aust Jr. Attacker Maryland
Karri Ellen Johnson Sr. Attacker Maryland
Iliana Sanza Jr. Defense Maryland
Katie Schwarzmann Jr. Midfield Maryland
Kara Cannizzaro Jr. Midfield North Carolina
Abbey Friend So. Attacker North Carolina
Becky Lynch Sr. Attacker North Carolina
Sloane Serpe So. Defense North Carolina
Laura Zimmerman Sr. Midfield North Carolina
Julie Gardner Sr. Midfield Virginia
Josie Owen Sr. Attacker Virginia
Jessica Nonn Sr. Attacker Virginia Tech