North Carolina Inks Top Spot in 2012 ACC Women's Lacrosse Championship

April 14, 2012

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( – Pairings for the 2012 Atlantic Coast Conference Women’s Lacrosse Championship have been determined, as announced by the league office on Saturday, April 14. North Carolina earned the top spot in the upcoming three-day lacrosse championship, which will be held April 20, 21 and 23 at Koskinen Stadium in Durham, N.C.

The third-ranked Tar Heels concluded the regular season with an unblemished 5-0 ACC mark.

The Tar Heels, led by a trio of Tewaaraton Trophy nominees in Kara Cannizzaro, Becky Lynch, and Laura Zimmerman, earned a first-round bye and will take on the winner of No. 4 seed Virginia and No. 5 seed Boston College on Saturday, April 21 at 12:00 p.m. ET in semifinals action of the annual ACC Championship.

Duke, which tabbed four of its student-athletes on the 2012 Tewaaraton Trophy candidate list (Emma Hamm, Mollie Mackler, Kim Wenger, and Kat Thomas), earned the No. 2 seed in the upcoming league championship. The Blue Devils will also enjoy a first-round bye and will challenge either No. 3 Maryland or No. 6 seed Virginia Tech in semifinals action on Saturday at 3:00 p.m.

Last season, Maryland captured its third consecutive ACC Championship crown, defeating North Carolina 12-7, at WakeMed Soccer Park in Cary, N.C.

For more information regarding ACC Women’s Lacrosse, including the upcoming Championship, please visit

2012 ACC Women’s Lacrosse Championship Bracket
Koskinen Stadium, Durham, N.C.

Friday, April 20
#4 Virginia vs. #5 Boston College, 12:00 p.m. (RSN)
#3 Maryland vs. #6 Virginia Tech, 2:00 p.m. (RSN)

Saturday, April 21
#1 North Carolina vs. #4 Virginia/#5 Boston College, 1:00 p.m. (RSN)
#2 Duke vs. #3 Maryland/#6 Virginia Tech, 3:00 p.m. (RSN)

Monday, April 23
Championship Game, 7:00 p.m. (ESPNU)