Twelve ACC Women Selected to Tewaaraton Watch List

Feb. 22, 2013

WASHINGTON  – The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the 2013 Tewaaraton Award women’s watch list with 12 ACC student-athletes recognized. The lists include the top players across all three divisions of NCAA lacrosse and highlight the early contenders for the 2013 Tewaaraton Award.

ACC student-athletes have won five times in the 12 year history of the award, including last year’s winner Katie Schwarzmann of Maryland. Other ACC winners are Maryland’s Jen Adams in 2001, Virginia’s Amy Appelt  in 2004, Duke’s Katie Chrest in 2005, and Maryland’s Caitlyn McFadden in 2010.

Each year, the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy – the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca and Tuscarora. While 2013 is The Year of the Mohawk, the men’s watch list includes three members of the Onondaga Nation in Lyle, Miles and Ty Thompson from Albany.

The Tewaaraton Award annually honors the top male and top female college lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committees are made up of top collegiate coaches and are appointed annually by The Tewaaraton Foundation. Committees will make additions to these lists as the season progresses and athletes earn a spot alongside these elite players. Both lists will be narrowed to 25 men’s and women’s nominees in late April. In mid-May, five men’s and five women’s finalists will be announced. These finalists will be invited to Washington, D.C. for the 13th annual Tewaaraton Award Ceremony, May 30 at the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of the American Indian.

ACC Student-Athletes on the Tewaaraton Women’s Watch List
Alex Aust, Maryland - Sr., A
Kara Cannizzaro, North Carolina - Sr., M
Megan Dunleavy, Virginia - Sr., D
Emily Garrity, North Carolina - Sr., M
Kim Kolarik, Virginia - Sr., GK
Lauren Maksym, North Carolina - Sr., GK
Kelly McPartland, Maryland - Soph., M
Maddy Morrissey, Duke - Jr., M
Iliana Sanza, Maryland - Sr., D
Katie Schwarzmann, Maryland - Sr., M
Covie Stanwick, Boston College - Soph., A
Taylor Virden, Duke - Jr., D