2012 All-ACC Academic Women's Golf Team Announced

June 25, 2012

GREENSBORO, N.C. - Atlantic Coast Conference Women's Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year Lindy Duncan of Duke leads the 2012 All-ACC Academic Team, as announced today by Commissioner John Swofford.

Duncan, a junior psychology major, is a three-time All-ACC Academic and All-ACC team honoree. The Ft. Lauderdale, Fla. golfer finished tied for sixth place individually at the NCAA Championship and helped her team to a 15th place finish. The three-time ACC Player of the Year was also named Golfweek National Player of the year. Duncan won four tournaments, including the ACC individual championship and had 10 top 10 finishes, posted 10 rounds in the 60s, 21 rounds of even or under par and a 71.07 stroke average. Her 71.07 stroke average is the second-best in school history and missed matching the Duke single-season school-record by .07. Amanda Blumenherst holds the Blue Devil mark of 71.00 that she set in 2007-08 and 2006-07. She was named ACC Co-Player of the Month in February along with NC State's Brittany Marchand and was Player of the Month in April. Duncan was named Golfweek First Team All-America for the third straight year. Duncan finished No.1 in the Golfweek/Sagarin Performance Index, which she led for most of the 2011-12 campaign. Duncan was also named the PING NGCA National Player of the Year, won the GolfStat Cup and was a NGCA First Team All-American this season.

Six golfers who earned All-ACC honors this past season secured spots on the 2012 All-ACC Academic Women's Golf Team. Players earning both All-ACC Academic and All-Conference honors in 2012 were Boston College's Katia Joo, Duke's Laetitia Beck and Lindy Duncan, Florida State's Maria Salinas, North Carolina's Katherine Perry and NC State's Brittany Marchand.

Eleven golfers were repeat honorees from the 2011 All-ACC Academic team: Duke's Laetitia Beck, Alejandra Cangrejo, Lindy Duncan and Stacey Kim, Florida State's Maria Salinas and Hannah Thomson, Maryland's Christine Shimel, North Carolina's Allie White, NC State's Amanda Baker and Brittany Marchand and Wake Forest's Olafia Kristinsdottir.

Eight of the nine schools were represented on this year's All-ACC Academic Team. Duke led with five individuals while Florida State, NC State and Wake Forest each placed three honorees on the team. Boston College, Maryland, North Carolina and Virginia each placed two on the team.

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year award was established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports. Candidates for the award must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average for their career as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters.

To be eligible for consideration for the All-ACC Academic team, a student-athlete, regardless of classification, must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during her academic career.

2012 All-ACC Academic Women’s Golf Team
Name, Class, School Major
Katia Joo, Fr., Boston College Management/Leadership
Kaela Klune, Jr., Boston College Finance and Management/Leadership
#Laetitia Beck, So., Duke Psychology
#Alejandra Cangrejo, So., Duke Psychology
##Lindy Duncan, Jr., Duke Psychology
#Courtney Ellenbogen, Jr., Duke Economics
##Stacey Kim, Jr., Duke Political Science
Laure Castelain, Fr., Florida State Business NFA
#Maria Salinas, Sr., Florida State International Affairs
##Hannah Thomson, Sr., Florida State Sport Management
Emily Gimpel, So, Maryland Kinesiology
##Christine Shimel, Jr., Maryland Business & Spanish Lang. & Lit.
Katherine Perry, So., North Carolina Exercise & Sport Science
##Allie White, Sr., North Carolina English
#Amanda Baker, Jr., NC State Business Administration
#Brittany Marchand, So., NC State Chemical Engineering
Ana Menendez, So., NC State Business Administration
Elizabeth Brightwell, Jr., Virginia French
#Lauren Greenlief, Sr., Virginia Commerce
Greta Lange, Jr., Wake Forest Communications
Marissa Dodd, So., Wake Forest Undeclared
#Olafia Kristinsdottir, So., Wake Forest Economics
#denotes second-time honoree
##denotes three-time honoree
ACC Women’s Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Lindy Duncan, Duke