2011 All-ACC Academic Women's Golf Team Announced

June 21, 2011

GREENSBORO, N.C. - Atlantic Coast Conference Women's Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year Natalie Sheary of Wake Forest leads the 2011 All-ACC Academic Team, as announced today by Commissioner John Swofford.

Sheary, a senior religion major, is a three-time All-ACC Academic and All-ACC team honoree. The West Hartford, Conn., golfer finished tied for eighth place individually at the NCAA Championship and helped her team to a 14th place finish. Sheary earned NGCA All-America honors for the third time and is just the second female golfer at Wake Forest to be named an All-American three times. She led Wake Forest with a 73.56 scoring average, which placed her third-best in the ACC. Sheary was named ACC Co-Player of the Month in February and had a team-best eight top-20 finishes. This marks the first time Wake Forest has been honored with the ACC Women's Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year award since the award's inception in September 2007.

Six golfers who earned All-ACC honors this past season secured spots on the 2011 All-ACC Academic Women's Golf Team. Players earning both All-ACC Academic and All-Conference honors in 2011 were Duke's Laetitia Beck and Lindy Duncan, Florida State's Maria Salinas, Miami's Maria Ronderos, North Carolina's Allie White and Wake Forest's Natalie Sheary.

Eleven golfers were repeat honorees from the 2010 All-ACC Academic team: Boston College's Kelsey Rockey and Eunice Yim, Duke's Lindy Duncan and Stacey Kim, Florida State's Macarena Silva and Hannah Thomson, Miami's Maria Ronderos, Maryland's Christine Shimel, NC State's Brooke Baker, Virginia's Nicole Agnello and Wake Forest's Alexandra Bodemann.

All nine schools were represented on this year's All-ACC Academic Team. Duke led with five individuals while Florida State, Maryland, NC State and Wake Forest each placed three honorees on the team. Boston College and Virginia captured two golfers each, while North Carolina and Miami secured one honoree on the team.

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year award was established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports. Candidates for the award must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average for their career as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters.

To be eligible for consideration for the All-ACC Academic team, a student-athlete, regardless of classification, must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during her academic career.

2011 All-ACC Academic Women’s Golf Team

Name, Class, School, Major
#Kelsey Rockey, Sr., Boston College, Biology
%Eunice Yim, Jr., Boston College, Psychology & Communications
Laetitia Beck, Fr., Duke, Undeclared
Alejandra Cangrejo, Fr., Duke, Undeclared
Kim Donovan, Sr., Duke, Psychology
##Lindy Duncan, So., Duke, Psychology
##Stacey Kim, So., Duke, Political Science
Maria Salinas, Jr., Florida State, International Affairs
#Macarena Silva, Sr., Florida State, Marketing
##Hannah Thomson, Jr., Florida State, Sport Management
Hayley Brown, So., Maryland, Business Management
Hilary Lawson, Sr., Maryland, Agricultural & Resource Economics
##Christine Shimel, So., Maryland, Spanish
#Maria Ronderos, Sr., Miami, Architectural Engineering
**Allie White, Jr., North Carolina, English
Amanda Baker, So., NC State, Management
##Brooke Baker, Sr., NC State, Management
Brittany Marchand, Fr., NC State, Engineering
##Nicole Agnello, So., Virginia, Kinesiology
Portland Rosen, Fr., Virginia, Undeclared
##Alexandra Bodemann, Sr., Wake Forest, Communication
Olafia Kristinsdottir, Fr., Wake Forest, Undeclared
*Natalie Sheary, Sr., Wake Forest, Religion
#Repeat honoree (2008-10)
%Repeat honoree (2009-10)
##Repeat honoree (2010)
*Repeat honoree (2008-09)
**Repeat honoree (2009)

ACC Women’s Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Natalie Sheary, Wake Forest