2010 All-ACC Women's Golf Team Announced

May 3, 2010

GREENSBORO, N.C. - Atlantic Coast Conference Champion Wake Forest placed two players on the 2010 All-ACC Women’s Golf team, as well as capturing Coach of the Year honors for Dianne Dailey, as selected by the league’s nine head coaches.

Wake Forest claimed its second consecutive and fifth overall ACC Women’s Golf Championship this spring. The Demon Deacons were represented by freshman ACC medalist winner Michelle Shin and sophomore Cheyenne Woods. Shin captured medalist honors with a two-under-par 211 and became the first freshman to win the individual honor since Duke’s Amanda Blumenherst captured the title in 2006.

Duke, Florida State, Maryland and Virginia placed two players each on the team. Duke was represented by ACC Player and Freshman of the Year, Lindy Duncan and senior Alison Whitaker, who made her third appearance on the All-ACC team. Florida State honorees included senior Lacy Agnew and junior Macarena Silva, their first such honors. This is the first time Florida State has placed two members on the team since 2004, when Caroline Larsson and Katie Quinney were selected. Virginia was represented by a first-time honoree, freshman Brittany Altomare and junior Calle Nielson, earning her third-straight accolade. Maryland was represented by freshman Christine Shimel and sophomore Jessica Hollandsworth, her second straight honor.

North Carolina and Boston College rounded out the 12-member team with one selection each. North Carolina sophomore, Catherine O’Donnell earned her second straight All-ACC accolade. Boston College placed its first honoree on the All-ACC team since joining the league in 2005 with sophomore Eunice Yim.

Duncan becomes the first Duke player to win both ACC Player and Freshman of the Year honors, since Duke’s Amanda Blumenherst captured those honors in 2006.

Wake Forest’s Dailey was chosen as the league’s Coach of the Year, her fourth such honor and second consecutive in the Atlantic Coast Conference. Wake Forest claimed its fifth championship title and fourth under Dailey. The title was the second in a row for Wake Forest and the first back-to-back titles since winning in 1994 and 1995.

2010 All-ACC Women’s Golf Team
(alphabetical by school)
Name School Yr Hometown
Eunice Yim Boston College So LaCanada, Calif.
Lindy Duncan Duke Fr Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.
Alison Whitaker Duke Sr Melbourne, Australia
Lacy Agnew Florida State Sr Jonesboro, Ga.
Macarena Silva Florida State Jr Santiago, Chile
Jessica Hollandsworth . Maryland So Floyd, Va.
Christine Shimel Maryland Fr Kennett Square, Pa.
Catherine O’Donnell North Carolina So Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla.
Brittany Altomare Virginia Fr Shrewsbury, Mass.
Calle Nielson Virginia Jr Nashville, Tenn.
Michelle Shin Wake Forest Fr Cape Coral, Fla.
Cheyenne Woods Wake Forest So Phoenix, Ariz.
ACC Player of the Year: Lindy Duncan, Duke (Fr., Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.)
ACC Freshman of the Year: Lindy Duncan, Duke (Fr., Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.)
ACC Coach of the Year: Dianne Dailey, Wake Forest