2010 ACC Women's Golf Championship Set for April 16-18

April 13, 2010

GREENSBORO, NC - Wake Forest will begin its quest to defend its 2009 Atlantic Coast Conference women’s golf title at the 2010 ACC Women’s Golf Championship, being held Friday through Sunday, April 16-18, at Sedgefield Country Club, (Par 71, 6,355 yards), in Greensboro, N.C.

Maryland, Miami and Boston College will be in the first group which starts at 8:30am. The second wave of NC State, Virginia and Florida State will start at 9:20am and the final group will include Wake Forest, North Carolina and Duke with a scheduled tee time start of 10:10am.

Live scoring will be available on-line. Live webstreaming will be available for free on Saturday, April 17 from 1pm to conclusion of play and Sunday, April 18 from 12:30pm to conclusion of play on theACC.com. Complete coverage and details are on the ACC Women's Golf Championship Site. The championship is free and open to the public.

NOTEWORTHY: Sedgefield Country Club in Greensboro, NC will be the host for the second straight time for this year’s ACC Championship…Wake Forest will be out to defend its title after a 24-stroke victory over North Carolina in 2009…Duke won the championship from 1996 through 2008; Duke boasts the most league titles with sixteen, followed by Wake Forest with four and North Carolina with one… In the 2008 championship, Virginia tied its highest ever placing in the event with a second place finish... Maryland placed fourth in 2006, its highest finish ever in the ACC tournament…Florida State has placed second as a team three times in the history of the championship… NC State’s Head Coach Page Marsh finished third individually as a player for the University of North Carolina in the first ACC Championship played in 1984…Miami placed fifth in 2005, its highest finish ever in the ACC Championship...Boston College will be competing in its fifth straight golf championship as an ACC member.


GROUP ONE: Maryland, Miami, Boston College
Tee times: 8:30am/8:40am/8:50am/9:00am/9:10am

GROUP TWO: NC State, Virginia, Florida State
Tee times: 9:20am/9:30am/9:40am/9:50am/10:00am

GROUP THREE: Wake Forest, North Carolina, Duke
Tee times: 10:10am/10:20am/10:30am/10:40am/10:50am