Wake Forest in Lead After First Round of 2010 ACC Women's Golf Championship

April 16, 2010

GREENSBORO, NC (theACC.com)- Wake Forest has taken the early lead at the 2010 ACC Women's Golf Championship at Sedgefield Country Club (Par 71, 6,355 yards), which is hosting the championship for the second consecutive year.

Wake Forest shot a 2-over-par 286 and was led by freshman Michelle Shin (Cape Coral, Fla.) and sophomore Cheyenne Woods (Phoenix, Ariz.), who are tied for second place with a 1-under par 70.

"We got off to a little bit of a rough start but the first hole is a hard hole," said Wake Forest head coach Dianne Dailey. "But we settled in a little as the day went on and we took advantage of the par-5s and kind of hung in there on the par-4s."

"It was important for us to play well today and I think we did,"continued Dailey. "We left some shots out there but we didn't shoot ourselves out of the tournament. Our goal was to go out there and play the best that we could and learn from the golf course."

Duke and Virginia are tied in second place with a 4-over-par team score of 288. Maryland is in fourth place at 299, Florida State and NC State are tied for fifth at 301, North Carolina is seventh at 302, Miami eighth at 318 and Boston College is ninth with a 324 score.

Individually, Duke's Alison Whitaker, a senior from Melbourne, Australia, shot a 2-under-par 69 to take a one-stroke lead over fellow teammate Stacey Kim, a freshman from Columbus, Ga., Virginia junior Calle Nielson (Nashville, Tenn.) and Wake Forest's Shin and Woods, all who shot 1-under-par 70.

Second round pairings will start at 8:30am with the group of North Carolina, Miami and Boston College. The second wave, which includes Maryland, Florida State and NC State, will start at 9:20am and the final grouping of Wake Forest, Duke and Virginia will start at 10:10am.

Live webstreaming will be available for free on Saturday (1pm to conclusion of play) and Sunday (12:30pm to conclusion of play) - on theACC.com. Go to the ACC website: www.theacc.com for complete details.

The championship is free and open to the public.