Duke Captures First-Round Lead at 2012 ACC Women's Golf Championship

April 13, 2012

GREENSBORO, NC (theACC.com) - Duke captured the first-round lead at the Atlantic Coast Conference women's golf championship, being held Friday through Sunday, April 13-15, at Sedgefield Country Club, (Par 71, 6,224 yards), in Greensboro, N.C.

Duke has a 10-shot lead, (280, -4) heading into the second round of the championship. This is Duke's first opening-round lead since 2007 in the ACC Championship.

"I am quite pleased," said Duke head coach Dan Brooks after the first round. "We were shining in all areas. We came in strong - I love a strong finish. This golf course can absolutely nail you. The greens were rolling at about 12 and they are firm. It is extremely challenging. So I am very proud of the ladies."

The Blue Devils were led by sophomore Alejandra Cangrejo (Bogota, Columbia) who shot a two-under par 69, her season-best round. Duke's Stacey Kim (Jr., Columbus, Ga.) and Lindy Duncan (Jr., Ft. Lauderdale, Fla.) are tied for second with one-under par 70.

Duke shot the lowest round (280) in ACC Championship history at Sedgefield Country Club.

North Carolina is in second place (290, +6) and is led by senior Allie White (Lancaster, Ohio) who shot an even par 71.

Wake Forest is in third place (298, +14) and is led by Olafia Kristinsdottir (So., Reykjavik, Iceland) with a one-under 70 and is tied with Duke's Kim and Duncan. NC State (299) is in fourth place, Boston College (301) in fifth place, Virginia (303) sixth place, Maryland (307) in seventh place and Florida State and Miami are tied for eighth.

This is Boston College's best round in the ACC Championship.

Live scoring, daily results and complete championship information will be available at http://bit.ly/2012ACCWGolf. Live web-streaming will be available for free on Saturday (1:30pm to conclusion of play) and Sunday (1:30pm to conclusion of play) - on theACC.com.

Tee times Saturday will start at 8:30am. Sunday's tee times will begin at 8:00am. The first group includes Miami, Florida State and Maryland with an 8:30am start. The second wave of Virginia, Boston College and NC State will start at 9:20am and the final wave of Wake Forest, North Carolina and Duke will begin at 10:10am.

The championship is free and open to the public.