TarHeelBlue.com: Falgowski Honored as Nation's Top Field Hockey Player

Nov. 28, 2011

CHAPEL HILL, N.C. - North Carolina senior Katelyn Falgowski has been named the 2011 Longstreth/NFHCA Division I National Player of the Year, as announced Monday by the National Field Hockey Coaches Association. Falgowski is the fourth player in program history to earn national player of the year honors.

"I'm thrilled that Katelyn has been honored by the NFHCA as the nation's top player," UNC coach Karen Shelton said. "There's no question that she's one of the most talented players I've ever coached, but she's also one of the smartest and savviest. Throughout her career - and during her senior year as much as ever - she has been the embodiment of hard work and leadership. She has represented our program and the U.S. so well, and it has been a privilege to coach her."

Falgowski, a midfielder from Landenberg, Pa., was a four-year starter for the Tar Heels and served as team captain the past two seasons. As senior, she was named first-team All-America and was selected as Atlantic Coast Conference Tournament MVP as Carolina won the conference title. She also was named All-NCAA Tournament as UNC finished as the national runner-up.

She missed seven games in the middle of the season while competing as part of the U.S. National Team at the Pan American Games in Guadalajara, Mexico. The U.S. won the gold medal there for the first time ever, earning a berth in the 2012 Olympic Games in London. Falgowski, who was part of the U.S. Olympic Team in 2008, rejoined the Tar Heel squad for the final game of the regular season, an overtime win at No. 1 Old Dominion.

Falgowski finished her career as the program's all-time leader in assists with a total of 63 in 81 games. A communications studies major who has earned Dean's List and ACC Academic Honor Roll recognition during her career, she will graduate from UNC in December.

The NFHCA honor is in its third year, and this is the first time a Tar Heel has won. Three UNC players have earned the Honda Award as national player of the year: Leslie Lyness (1989), Cindy Werley (1996 and 1997) and Rachel Dawson (2007).