Seven ACC Student-Athletes Tabbed For NFHCA All-America First Team

Nov. 23, 2010

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Seven Atlantic Coast Conference student-athletes were named to the 2010 Longstreth/NFHCA Division I All-American 16-member first team, announced Monday by the NFHCA. The ACC led all conferences in first-team selections as the Big East Conference and Ivy League each had two selected to the squad. The ACC also landed four student-athletes on both the second and third teams. Overall, 15 ACC field hockey student-athletes were honored as a first, second, or third team All-American to lead all conferences.

The Big Ten trailed the ACC with nine picks, while the Big East tallied seven. The Colonial Athletic Association and Ivy League each received three selections, while the America East Conference, Atlantic 10 Conference, Mid-American Conference, and Patriot League had two apiece. The North Pacific Field Hockey Conference rounded out the field with one honoree.

2010 ACC Champion Maryland, fresh off winning its seventh national championship, had four student-athletes recognized. Sophomore Megan Frazer and senior Katie O’Donnell, the 2010 ACC Offensive Player of the Year, earned first-team nods for the Terps, which also placed a student-athlete on both the second and third teams.

O’Donnell picked up another accolade Tuesday as the NFHCA announced her selection as the 2010 Division I National Player of the Year. She is a four-time recipient of First-Team All-American honors and the only player in NCAA history to register at least 100 assists and 300 points in her career. O’Donnell is also just the third student-athlete in conference history to earn league player of the year honors four consecutive years.

North Carolina, the runner up in both the ACC and NCAA Championships, also garnered four selections. Senior Jackie Kintzer joined sophomore Kelsey Kolojejchick and sophomore Caitlin Van Sickle – the 2010 ACC Defensive Player of the Year – in representing the Tar Heels on the first team. North Carolina also earned a third-team recognition.

Virginia registered three honorees, including two on the first team in juniors Paige Selenski and Michelle Vittese. Wake Forest had two student-athletes recognized, while Boston College and Duke had one apiece to round out the league’s 15 selections.

Princeton was the only other team to claim four accolades.

Maryland’s 3-2 double-overtime victory against North Carolina in the 2010 NCAA Field Hockey Championship marked the conference’s ninth consecutive national title and 16th overall. The Terps and Tar Heels have combined to win the last five championships. The championship game featured two ACC teams for the third consecutive season.

ACC on the 2010 NAtional Field Hockey Coaches Association
All-America First Team

 Name  School
 Megan Frazer  Maryland
 Jackie Kintzer  North Carolina
 Kelsey Kolojejchick  North Carolina
 Katie O'Donnell  Maryland
 Paige Selenski  Virginia
 Caitlin Van Sickle  North Carolina
 Michelle Vittese  Virginia

ACC on the 2010 National Field Hockey Coaches Association
All-America Second Team

 Name  School
 Lauren Greenwald  Wake Forest
 Rhian Jones  Duke
 Emily Kozniuk  Boston College
 Jill Witmer  Maryland

ACC on the 2010 National Field Hockey Coaches Association
All-America Third Team

 Name  School
 Elly Buckley  Virginia
 Jemma Buckley  Maryland
 Marta Malmberg  North Carolina
 Lizzie Rae  Wake Forest