ACC Collects 36 Regional NFHCA Field Hockey Honors

Nov. 19, 2010

GREENSBORO, N.C. - Maryland senior attacker Katie O'Donnell and North Carolina sophomore midfielder Kelsey Kolojejchick have been recognized as 2010 Division I Regional Players of the Year in their respective regions, as announced by the National Field Hockey Coaches Association today. They are among 36 Atlantic Coast Conference student-athletes honored on the NFHCA Division I All-Region Teams, which were announced Thursday.

Of the 36 honorees, 22 were first-team selections and 14 were second team. Maryland, North Carolina, and Virginia led the league with a combined seven selections each. Wake Forest had six total selections, followed by five from Duke, and four from Boston College.

The Mid-Atlantic Region Player of the Year honor marks O'Donnell's fourth major award in 2010. She was named the ACC Offensive Player of the Year earlier this month, becoming just the third league athlete to garner player of the year recognition for four consecutive years. O'Donnell was also selected MVP of the ACC Championship and was honored by the Women's Sports Foundation in October as the 2010 Sportswoman of the Year. She became the first field hockey athlete to receive the award. O'Donnell is the conference's career leader in points and assists.

Kolojejchick, the South Region Player of the Year, is coming off a 2010 campaign where she led North Carolina in goals (15) and points (38). She tallied six game-winning goals on the season. The 2009 Freshman of the Year picked up All-ACC honors for the second-straight season.

O'Donnell is joined by four fellow Terps on the Mid-Atlantic Region first team and two on the second team. Four Tar Heels join Kolojejchick on the South Region first team and two on the second.

North Carolina (5), Virginia (4), Wake Forest (3), and Duke (2) combined to give the ACC 14 of the possible 16 first-team selections in the South Region. The league had 11 student-athletes named to the South Region Second Team, including three each from Duke, Virginia, and Wake Forest, along with two from North Carolina.

Boston College's four selections represent the ACC in the Northeast Region with three on the first team and one on the second.

The announcements come on the eve of the 2010 NCAA Field Hockey Championship semifinals, hosted by Maryland at the Field Hockey and Lacrosse Complex in College Park, Md. The first game today is a rematch of last year's national semifinals as No. 2 ranked North Carolina (21-2, 4-1 ACC) faces No. 3 Virginia (18-3, 3-2 ACC) at 2 p.m. The Tar Heels have won three straight against the Cavaliers, claiming both matchups this season, including a 3-2 decision during the regular season and a 1-0 overtime win in the 2010 ACC Championship semifinals. UNC defeated Virginia in last year's semifinals, 3-2, and went on to clinch its sixth national title. The Tar Heels have appeared in the semifinals 13 times and hold an 11-2 record, while Virginia has reached the round of four three times. The Cavaliers look to reach the championship game for the first time in program history.

The second game is scheduled for 4:30 p.m., and will feature top-ranked Maryland (21-1, 5-0 ACC) taking on No. 7 Ohio State (18-4, 5-1 Big Ten). The Terps are making their 14th appearance in the semifinals where they hold a 9-4 record and are seeking their 10th trip to the championship game. Maryland fell to North Carolina last season in the final by a score of 3-2. The Terps have won six national titles, with their last coming in 2008. The Buckeyes are making their sixth trip to the NCAA tournament and hold a 3-5 mark. This is their first appearance in the semifinals. Ohio State posted a program-best 18 wins this season.

More information on ACC field hockey can be accessed by visiting

ACC in the 2010 National Field Hockey Coaches Association Division I All-Region First Teams

 Name  School  Region
 Jana Anctil  Boston College  Northeast
 Friderike Hauschildt  Boston College  Northeast
 Emily Kozinuk  Boston College  Northeast
 Tara Jennings  Duke  South
 Rhian Jones  Duke  South
 Jemma Buckley  Maryland  Mid-Atlantic
 Megan Frazer  Maryland  Mid-Atlantic
 Katie O'Donnell  Maryland  Mid-Atlantic
 Harriet Tibble  Maryland  Mid-Atlantic
 Jill Witmer  Maryland  Mid-Atlantic
 Elizabeth Drazdowski  North Carolina  South
 Jackie Kintzer  North Carolina  South
 Kelsey Kolojejchick  North Carolina  South
 Marta Malmberg  North Carolina  South
 Caitlin Van Sickle  North Carolina  South
 Elly Buckley  Virginia  South
 Rachel Jennings  Virginia  South
 Paige Selenski  Virginia  South
 Michelle Vittese  Virginia  South
 Emily Cummings  Wake Forest  South
 Lauren Greenwald  Wake Forest  South
 Lizzie Rae  Wake Forest  South

ACC in the 2010 National Field Hockey Coaches Association Division I All-Region Second Teams

 Name  School  Region
 Paige Norris  Boston College  Northeast
 Susan Ferger  Duke  South
 Emmie Le Marchand  Duke  South
 Samantha Nelson  Duke  South
 Lauren Barr  Maryland  Mid-Atlantic
 Alicia Morawski  Maryland  Mid-Atlantic
 Meghan Dawson  North Carolina  South
 Jaclyn Gaudioso Radvany  North Carolina  South
 Haley Carpenter  Virginia  South
 Kim Kastuk  Virginia  South
 Tara Puffenberger  Virginia  South
 Liza Casella  Wake Forest  South
 Molly Murphy  Wake Forest  South
 Kaitlin Piosa  Wake Forest  South