ACC Leads All Conferences with 29 NFHCA All-Region Honors

Nov. 15, 2012

GREENSBORO, N.C. - Twenty-nine Atlantic Coast Conference field hockey student-athletes were named to NFHCA Division I All-Region teams, which were announced Thursday by the National Field Hockey Coaches Association. The total is the most for any conference in the nation, leading the Big Ten's 24 and Colonial's 19.

Of the 29 honorees, 17 were first team selections and 12 were second team. Maryland led the league with seven selections, followed by Virginia with six and North Carolina with five. Duke had four student-athletes honored, followed by Wake Forest with four and Boston College with three.

North Carolina (4), Virginia (4), Duke (2), and Wake Forest (1) combined to give the ACC 11 of the possible 16 named to the South Region First Team. The league had eight student-athletes selected to the South Region Second Team.

A full copy of the release from the NFHCA is attached.

ACC on the 2012 NFHCA Division I All-Region First Teams
Paige Norris Boston College Northeast
Emma Plasteras Boston College Northeast
Paula Heimbach Duke South
Emmie Le Marchand Duke South
Maxine Fluharty Maryland Mid-Atlantic
Megan Frazer Maryland Mid-Atlantic
Harriet Tibble Maryland Mid-Atlantic
Jill Witmer Maryland Mid-Atlantic
Charlotte Craddock North Carolina South
Kelsey Kolojejchick North Carolina South
Caitlin Van Sickle North Carolina South
Emily Wold North Carolina South
Elly Buckley Virgina South
Jenny Johnstone Virginia South
Paige Selenski Virginia South
Michelle Vittese Virginia South
Anna Kozniuk Wake Forest South
ACC on the 2012 NFHCA Division I All-Region Second Teams
Virgynia Muma Boston College Northeast
Devon Gagliardi Duke South
Abby Hassinger Duke South
Katie Gerzabek Maryland Mid-Atlantic
Ali Mcevoy Maryland Mid-Atlantic
Sarah Sprink Maryland Mid-Atlantic
Katie Ardrey North Carolina South
Rachel Sumfest Virginia South
Carissa Vittese Virginia South
Jess Mcfadyen Wake Forest South
Lizzie Rae Wake Forest South
Taylor Rhea Wake Forest South