2012 ACC Field Hockey Individual Awards Announced

Nov. 5, 2012

GREENSBORO, N.C. (theACC.com) - Virginia redshirt senior Paige Selenski and North Carolina senior Caitlin Van Sickle were recognized as Atlantic Coast Conference Field Hockey Players of the Year, announced today by Commissioner John Swofford.

Selenski was voted as the Offensive Player of the Year and Van Sickle was selected as the Defensive Player of the Year in a poll of the league's six head coaches. Tar Heel Emily Wold received Freshman of the Year honors and North Carolina's Karen Shelton was named the Coach of the Year.

After redshirting in 2011 to compete with the U.S. National team, Selenski returned for her senior year and led the conference in shots (5.74), points (3.37), goals (1.37), and game-winning goals (7), and ranked third in assists (0.63).  The native of Shavertown, Pa., currently ranks tied for second in ACC history with 99 career goals, two shy of the conference record. Selenski also ranks second on the conference's career points list (235) and eighth on the NCAA's list, having broken the Virginia program record earlier in the year. She was previously voted as the Freshman of the Year in 2008, and is the second Cavalier to be named Player of the Year and first since Lori Mastropietro in 1997.

Van Sickle becomes the second player in conference history to earn Player of the Year honors for three consecutive seasons. The native of Wilmington, Del., anchored a Tar Heel defensive unit that ranks fourth in the country (1.10 goals per game) and posted seven shutouts. Named the 2012 ACC Championship MVP, Van Sickle has been a First Team All-American the past two seasons.

A native of Freehold, N.J., Wold started 15 games in her rookie campaign and tallied three goals and six assists. The defender played a key role in a strong Tar Heel defense that led the league in goals allowed. She is the seventh North Carolina player to garner Freshman of the Year accolades and first since Kelsey Kolojejchick in 2009.

Shelton led the Tar Heels to a 20-1 record and a perfect 5-0 mark in conference play as North Carolina successfully defended its conference championship from last year. The Tar Heels, who never dropped below No. 2 in the country and held the top spot for six weeks, finished the season undefeated in regulation with the only loss coming in overtime to No. 7 Syracuse. It is her league-leading ninth ACC Coach of the Year honor.