2010 All-ACC Field Hockey Team Announced

Nov. 3, 2010

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Maryland senior attacker Katie O’Donnell has been honored as the 2010 Atlantic Coast Conference Offensive Player of the Year, becoming just the third student-athlete in league history to earn top honors for four consecutive seasons, and headlines the 2010 All-ACC Field Hockey team, announced today by the conference office. O’Donnell was one of three Terps to garner individual recognition as teammate and fellow attacker Jill Witmer has been named Freshman of the Year and head coach Missy Meharg has been selected the Coach of the Year. North Carolina sophomore Caitlin Van Sickle was tabbed Defensive Player of the Year. The selections were made by a vote of the conference’s six head coaches.

O’Donnell, who in October became the first field hockey athlete to be named Sportswoman of the Year by the Women’s Sports Foundation, led the conference in points (77), goals (25) and assists (27). She guided a Maryland offense that scored a league-high 89 goals and tallied a conference-best 83 assists. The Blue Bell, Pa., native currently leads the nation in points per game with 4.28 and assists per game with 1.5, while ranking second in goals per game with 1.39. The Terps average a 3.32 scoring margin, which is tops in the country. O’Donnell also garnered her fourth All-ACC recognition.

Witmer, a native of Lancaster, Pa., becomes the first Terp since 2004 to be recognized as the Freshman of the Year. She scored 13 goals and tallied five assists to finish the regular season with 31 points, which is good for seventh-best in the conference. An All-ACC honoree, Witmer registered three multi-goal games and four game-winning goals.

Meharg, who earned ACC Coach of the Year honors for the sixth time in her 23-year career, guided Maryland to a 17-1 overall mark and a perfect 5-0 record in league play. The Terps were ranked No. 2 in the preseason Kookaburra/NFHCA Division I National Coaches Poll and recently took over the top spot two weeks ago after defeating then-No. 1 North Carolina. Maryland also clinched the No. 1 seed in the 2010 ACC Field Hockey Championship, which begins Thursday at Wake Forest, and the Terps are seeking their third-straight tournament title.

Van Sickle anchored a North Carolina defense that currently boasts a national-best 0.63 goals against average. The Tar Heels have recorded 10 shutouts on the season. The Wilmington, Del., native also earned All-ACC honors for the first time, finishing the regular season with 10 goals and five assists. It marks the third time that the award has gone to a Tar Heel since 2004 when the league initiated separate awards for offensive and defensive players. Rachel Dawson won the award in both 2004 and 2007.

The 17-member All-ACC team includes five selections from Maryland – the most by any league team. North Carolina has four student-athletes recognized, while Virginia has three. Duke and Wake Forest each have two, with Boston College earning one selection to round out the list.

More information on ACC field hockey can be accessed by visiting theACC.com. All 2010 ACC Field Hockey Championship information can be found on the official championship website, http://www.theacc.com/championships/10-field-hockey-championship.html.

2010 All-ACC Field Hockey Team
Name Yr. Pos. School
Emily Kozniuk Sr. M Boston College
Tara Jennings Jr. M Duke
Rhian Jones ! Jr. D Duke
Jemma Buckley Jr. D Maryland
Megan Frazer So. M Maryland
Katie O’Donnell ^ Sr. A Maryland
Harriet Tibble So. D Maryland
Jill Witmer Fr. A Maryland
Jackie Kintzer ! Sr. GK North Carolina
Kelsey Kolojejchick ! So. M North Carolina
Marta Malmberg Fr. D North Carolina
Caitlin Van Sickle So. D North Carolina
Elly Buckley Fr. M Virginia
Paige Selenski # Jr. A Virginia
Michelle Vittese ! Jr. D Virginia
Lauren Greenwald Jr. D Wake Forest
Lizzie Rae So. F Wake Forest
Offensive Player of the Year: Katie O’Donnell, Maryland
Defensive Player of the Year: Caitlin Van Sickle, North Carolina
Freshman of the Year: Jill Witmer, Maryland
Coach of the Year: Missy Meharg, Maryland
! - Two-time selection; # - Three-time selection; ^ - Four-time selection