2011 All-ACC Field Hockey Team Announced

GREENSBORO, N.C. – North Carolina juniors Kelsey Kolojejchick and Caitlin Van Sickle were named the ACC Field Hockey Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year, announced by the conference today. Wake Forest freshman Anna Kozniuk was tabbed the Freshman of the Year, and Duke head coach Pam Bustin was named Coach of the Year. The selections were made by a vote of the conference’s six head coaches.

Kolojejchick and the Tar Heel offense averaged 4.16 goals per game, the third highest total in the country. The native of Larksville, Pa. led the conference in points (45), goals (19), and game-winning goals (5). It is her third time on the All-ACC team. She is the eighth North Carolina player to win the award and the first since 2004 when the league instituted separate awards for offensive and defensive players.

Van Sickle anchored a defense that ranked first in the nation in shutouts (11) and second in goals against average (0.75). It is her second straight Defensive Player of the Year award, and it is the third time in the last five years that a Tar Heel has won the award.

Kozniuk is just the second Demon Deacon to win the Freshman of the Year award and first since 2005. The native of North Vancouver, Canada finished the season with four goals and 13 points in 15 games played, and had two game-winning goals which tied for the team lead.

Bustin took over a Duke program that was coming off of two consecutive losing seasons and hadn’t won an ACC game since 2008. She led the Blue Devils to a No. 5 ranking in October and finished as the 8th-ranked team in the country with an 11-6 record and 2-3 record in conference play. Duke finished with a 3-2 record against ranked teams, including a win over No. 1 Old Dominion. She is the first Duke coach since 1996 and fourth overall to win the award.

The 19-member All-ACC team includes five selections from both Maryland and North Carolina. Duke has four student-athletes recognized, while Wake Forest has three. Boston College and Virginia round out the list with one selection each.

More information on ACC field hockey can be accessed by visiting theACC.com. All 2011 ACC Field Hockey Championship information can be found on the official championship website, http://www.theacc.com/championships/11-acc-field-hockey-championship.html.

2011 All-ACC Field Hockey Team

Name Year Pos. School
Nicole Schuster So. M/F Boston College
Emmie Le Marchand So. M Duke
Rhian Jones# Sr. M/D. Duke
Samantha Nelson R-Sr. GK Duke
Stefanie Fee Sr. D Duke
Ali McEvoy So. D Maryland
Harriet Tibble! Jr. D Maryland
Jemma Buckley! Sr. M Maryland
Jill Witmer! So. A Maryland
Megan Frazer! Jr. M Maryland
Caitlin Van Sickle! Jr. B North Carolina
Katelyn Falgowski^ Sr. M North Carolina
Katie Ardrey Jr. F North Carolina
Kelsey Kolojejchick# Jr. M North Carolina
Sassi Ammer Fr. GK North Carolina
Elly Buckley! So. F Virginia
Anna Kozniuk Fr. B/M Wake Forest
Lauren Greenwald! Sr. B/M Wake Forest
Lizzie Rae! Jr. M/F Wake Forest

! - Two-time selection

# - Three-time selection

^ - Four-time selection

2011 ACC Field Hockey Individual Awards

Offensive Player of the Year

Kelsey Kolojejchick, North Carolina

Defensive Player of the Year

Caitlin Van Sickle, North Carolina

Freshman of the Year

Anna Kozniuk, Wake Forest

Coach of the Year

Pam Bustin, Duke