2011 ACC Field Hockey Championship Bracket Announced

Oct. 29, 2011

GREENSBORO, N.C. – The 2011 Atlantic Coast Conference Field Hockey Championship bracket was announced today, with North Carolina, Maryland, and Duke claiming the top three seeds in the tournament. The championship will be held on Nov. 3, 4, and 6 at the University of Maryland in College Park, Md. The first round games on Thursday will be broadcast on theACC.com, and the semifinals and finals can be seen on the league’s regional sports network.

North Carolina (18-1, 5-0 ACC), which earned the top seed for the first time since 2007 and the 15th time overall, will receive a first-round bye. The Tar Heels, ranked No. 2 in the country by the National Field Hockey Coaches Association, finished conference play undefeated to clinch the top seed. North Carolina, the National Championship Runner-Up last year, was picked as the preseason favorite by the ACC head coaches.

Maryland (15-3, 4-1 ACC), the defending national champions and the 3rd-ranked team in the country, will also receive a first-round bye. The Terrapins have maintained a top-three ranking in 74 consecutive polls, a streak dating back to Nov. 2, 2004.

Duke (11-6, 2-3 ACC) improved on last place finishes in the conference the last two years to grab the third seed.

Kicking off the three-day tournament will be fourth-seeded Wake Forest (9-8, 2-3 ACC) and fifth-seeded Boston College (10-8, 1-4 ACC) in a 1 p.m. game on Thursday, Nov. 3. The Demon Deacons won the regular season matchup, 1-0, on the final day of the regular season. The second game of the day will be a 3:30 p.m. contest between Duke and Virginia (8-11, 1-4 ACC), the No. 6 seed. The Cavaliers defeated the Blue Devils 3-2 in their only meeting this year, also on the final day of the regular season.

The winner of the Boston College and Wake Forest game will advance to the semifinal round and face North Carolina at 1 p.m. on Friday, Nov. 4, while the Duke and Virginia winner will meet Maryland at 3:30. The winner of each semifinal game will receive the day off on Saturday and meet on Sunday, Nov. 6, at 1 p.m. to determine the ACC champion.

North Carolina won the first nine ACC championships and has claimed 16 overall. Maryland trails with nine league championships, and Wake Forest has three. ACC teams have accounted for the last nine national titles and 16 overall since 1983.

The ACC’s regional sports network (RSN) includes Fox Sports South, Fox Sports Florida, Comcast SportsNet Mid-Atlantic, New England Sports Network, and Fox Sports Prime Ticket.

All information on the 2011 ACC Field Hockey Championship can be found on the official website: http://www.theacc.com/championships/11-acc-field-hockey-championship.html

Thursday, Nov. 3 – Quarterfinals

Field Hockey and Lacrosse Complex, College Park, Md.

No. 5 Boston College vs. No. 4 Wake Forest , 1:00 p.m., theACC.com

No. 6 Virginia vs. No. 3 Duke, 3:30 p.m., theACC.com

Friday, Nov. 4 – Semifinals

Field Hockey and Lacrosse Complex, College Park, Md.

No. 4/5 Wake Forest/Boston College vs. No. 1 North Carolina, 1:00 p.m., RSN

No. 3/6 Duke/Virginia vs. No. 2 Maryland, 3:30 p.m., RSN

Sunday, Nov. 6 – Finals

Field Hockey and Lacrosse Complex, College Park, Md.

Championship, 1:00 p.m., RSN