ACC Represented By 35 Student-Athletes On 2010 NFHCA National Academic Squad

March 28, 2011

GREENSBORO, N.C. – A group of 35 Atlantic Coast Conference student-athletes have been honored by the National Field Hockey Coaches Association as members of its 2010 Division I National Academic Squad. To be eligible for the award, student-athletes must have achieved a minimum 3.30 grade point average during the fall semester.

Highlighting the league’s honorees were four-time award recipients Kristine Stigas of Boston College, Alicia Morawski of Maryland and Elizabeth Drazdowski of North Carolina.

All six conference teams had student-athletes recognized. 2010 NCAA and ACC Champion Maryland collected a league-leading nine accolades, followed by Duke with eight selections and Boston College with seven. North Carolina and Virginia tallied five apiece, while Wake Forest had one.

Four of the ACC’s 35 honorees, including Rhian Jones of Duke, Jemma Buckley of Maryland, Marta Malmberg of North Carolina and Elly Buckley of Virginia, were named 2010 All-Americas by the NFHCA, while also receiving All-ACC accolades.

ACC Student-Athletes on 2010 NFHCA National Academic Squad

Janna Anctil Boston College
Friderike Hauschildt Boston College
Hannah Mulvey Boston College
Virgynia Muma Boston College
Jenny Raftery Boston College
Nicole Schuster Boston College
Kristine Stigas Boston College *
Chelsea Amsley Duke
Megan Deakins Duke
Stef Fee Duke
Devon Gagliardi Duke
Abby Hassinger Duke
Molly Johnson Duke
Rhian Jones Duke
Sarah Schoffstall Duke
Lauren Barr Maryland
Jemma Buckley Maryland
Meghan Dean Maryland
Amanda Himmelheber Maryland
Danielle Kauffman Maryland
Christine Knauss Maryland
Alicia Morawski Maryland *
Janessa Pope Maryland
Shelby Sydnor Maryland
Elizabeth Drazdowski North Carolina *
Drew Hayes North Carolina
Meghan Lyons North Carolina
Marta Malmberg North Carolina
Louise McNutt North Carolina
Liza Blue Virginia
Elly Buckley Virginia
Elizabeth Hanks Virginia
Katie Robinson Virginia
Lane Smith Virginia
Faith Adams Wake Forest

* denotes four-time honoree