ACC Announces 2010 All-ACC Academic Field Hockey Team

Feb. 25, 2011

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Boston College senior midfielder/forward Janna Anctil has been recognized as the 2010 Atlantic Coast Conference Field Hockey Scholar-Athlete of the Year, announced today by Commissioner John D. Swofford. She headlines the 30-member 2010 All-ACC Academic Field Hockey team, which includes nine All-ACC honorees and 13 NFHCA All-Region First Team selections.

Named to the NFHCA Northeast Region First Team twice, Anctil tallied 32 points as a senior. She ranked in the top 10 in the conference this season in five different statistical categories, including shots per game, points, points per game, goals and goals per game. Anctil also garnered ACC All-Tournament Team accolades in 2010. The Wolfeboro, N.H., native led the Eagles in goals (14) and points (32) during her senior campaign. She leaves Boston College as the fifth all-time leading scorer in program history with 92 career points. A two-time recipient of the Athletic Directors Award for Academic Achievement, she was also a member of the NFHCA Division I National Academic Squad.

Also highlighting the 2010 All-ACC Academic Field Hockey Team was North Carolina senior Elizabeth Drazdowski. A midfielder/forward from Mountain Top, Pa., Drazdowski is a four-time All-ACC Academic Field Hockey Team selection. She started all 25 of the Tar Heels’ games in 2010, tallying 15 points. A two-time national champion, Drazdowski also represented the United States at the 2009 Junior World Cup.

Joining Anctil as three-time honorees were Duke teammates Rhian Jones, a junior midfielder/defender, and Samantha Nelson, a senior goalkeeper. Additionally, eight student-athletes earned their second recognition.

All six league teams were represented on the 2010 All-ACC Academic Field Hockey Team with 2010 National Champion Maryland leading the conference with eight selections. Duke had seven student-athletes recognized. Boston College and national championship runner-up North Carolina each had five honorees. Wake Forest garnered three accolades, while Virginia had two.

The ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year award was established in September 2007 and is awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in his/her respective sports. Candidates for the award must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average for their career as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters.

To be eligible for All-ACC Academic Team consideration, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during his/her academic career.

2010 All-ACC Academic Field Hockey Team

Name,Year,Position,School Major
Janna Anctil !#, Sr.,M/F,Boston College Elementary Education/Human Development
Friderike Hauschildt, Gr.,B,Boston College Psychology
Paige Norris, Fr.,M/B,Boston College Undeclared
Nicole Schuster, Fr., M/F,Boston College Elementary Education
Kristine Stigas @, Gr.,GK,Boston College Higher Education
Stefanie Fee @, Jr.,D,Duke Psychology
Susan Ferger, Sr.,F,Duke Psychology
Tara Jennings @*, Jr.,M,Duke Evolutionary Anthropology
Rhian Jones #*, Jr.,M/D,Duke Public Policy
Emmie Le Marchand, Fr.,M,Duke Undeclared
Samantha Nelson #, Sr.,GK,Duke Political Science
Mary Nielsen, So.,M/F,Duke English
Lauren Barr, Jr.,D,Maryland Special Education Graduate School
Jemma Buckley*, Jr.,D,Maryland Kinesiology
Megan Frazer @*, So.,M,Maryland Undeclared
Colleen Gulick, So.,M,Maryland Bioengineering
Alicia Morawski, Sr.,D,Maryland Marketing/Operations Management
Katie O’Donnell @^*, Sr.,A,Maryland Elementary Education
Janessa Pope @, So.,A,Maryland Hearing and Speech Sciences
Harriet Tibble *, So.,D,Maryland Business
Teryn Brill, Jr.,M,North Carolina Journalism & Mass Communication
Elizabeth Drazdowski %, Sr.,M/F,North Carolina Communication Studies
Taryn Gjurich, Jr.,F,North Carolina Journalism & Mass Communication/Political Science
Jackie Kintzer @*, Sr.,GK,North Carolina Art
Marta Malmberg *, Fr.,M/B,North Carolina Psychology
Elly Buckley *, Fr.,F,Virginia Undeclared
Rachel Jennings @, Jr.,M/B,Virginia English
Faith Adams, Jr.,M/F,Wake Forest Business & Enterprise Management
Kerry Ergen, Jr.,F,Wake Forest Communication
Adelaide Knott, Jr.,F,Wake Forest Studio Art

! denotes 2010 ACC Field Hockey Scholar-Athlete of the Year
@ denotes two-time honoree
# denotes three-time honoree
% denotes four-time honoree
^ denotes 2010 ACC Offensive Player of the Year
* denotes 2010 All-ACC team member