Seven Named to the Naismith Women's Early Season Watch List

Nov. 15, 2012

GREENSBORO, N.C. - Seven Atlantic Coast Conference women's basketball players were named to the 2012-13 Naismith women's early season watch list, announced by the Atlanta Tipoff Club today.

Duke's Chelsea Gray and Elizabeth Williams, Florida State's Natasha Howard, Georgia Tech's Ty Marshall, and Maryland's Tianna Hawkins, Laurin Mincy and Alyssa Thomas are among the 50 candidates vying for the Naismith Women's Basketball College Player of the Year award. The Naismith women's Trophy is the most prestigious national award presented annually to the women's college basketball player of the year.

Gray, Williams, Howard, Marshall, Mincy and Thomas were also named to the Wooden Award Preseason Top 30 list.

The 50 player watch list was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors, which based its criteria on player performances from the previous year and expectations for the 2012Â]2013 college basketball season.

In late February, the Atlanta Tipoff Club's Board of Selectors will compile a midÂ]season team of the top 30 players in the nation. In March, the Naismith Trophy voting academy will vote to narrow the list to the four finalists.

The Naismith Women's College Player of the Year presented by AT&T will be awarded on April 8, 2013, in New Orleans, La.

ACC Representation on the Naismith Trophy Early Season Watch List
Chelsea Gray, Jr., F, Duke
Elizabeth Williams, So., C/F, Duke
Natasha Howard, Jr., F, Florida State
Ty Marshall, Jr., G, Georgia Tech
Tianna Hawkins, Sr., F, Maryland
Laurin Mincy, Jr., G, Maryland
Alyssa Thomas, Jr., F, Maryland