Six Conferences Join Forces to Create Women's Basketball Super Six Series

Oct. 13, 2010

GREENSBORO, N.C. - Six conferences have joined forces to create the "Super Six Series" Women's Basketball Challenge. Leagues participating are the Atlantic Coast Conference, BIG EAST, Big 12, Big Ten, Southeastern and the Pacific-10 Conference.

  The initial year of the series will be 2010-11 and will continue through at least 2011-12. Two teams from each conference will participate, resulting in six games played in on-campus venues. Each league will have one home game and one away game annually. Games will be played during the first part of the season, while match-ups will be determined based on teams with similar competitive strengths.

Duke and Florida State, who shared the 2009-10 ACC regular season crown, were chosen as the ACC's representatives for the inaugural "Super Six Series." Both programs were selected among the top seeds for the 2010 NCAA Tournament and were ranked among the Top 15 in each of the final Associated Press and USA Today/ polls of last season.

The Blue Devils, which are coming off an NCAA Tournament Elite Eight finish, posted a 30-6 overall record and were the 2010 ACC Tournament Champions last season, return three starters and welcome the top-rated recruiting class in the nation. Headlining the returning starters is a senior trio of 2010 All-America Jasmine Thomas, Krystal Thomas and Karima Christmas, while head coach Joanne P. McCallie enters her fourth year at Duke.

Florida State finished with a 28-6 record last season in a year that saw the Seminoles reach the Elite Eight for the first time in program history. FSU then signed what could be considered the greatest recruiting class in school history. Returning for the Seminoles is one of the league's top point guards in Courtney Ward as well as fellow senior guard Christian Hunnicutt, junior post player Cierra Bravard and sophomore stars Alexa Deluzio and Chasity Clayton. This season will mark head coach Sue Semrau's 14th campaign in Tallahassee.

Match-ups for the 2010-11 "Super Six Series" can be found below. Dates and television information is subject to change.  

2010-11 Super Six Series
November 17
Pittsburgh at Minnesota, 8:00p ET (
November 18
UCLA at Notre Dame, 7:00p ET
Duke at Auburn, 7:00p ET
November 19
Michigan State at Baylor, 8:00p ET
November 21
Vanderbilt at Florida State, 2:00p ET
November 22
Nebraska at Washington State, 10:00p ET

For more information about the Atlantic Coast Conference, including women's basketball news, tournament tickets and events log on to or follow @theACC on Twitter.