ACC Places Three on the Wade Watch List

Sept. 20, 2012

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( – Reigning Atlantic Coast Conference Women’s Basketball Player of the Year Alyssa Thomas of Maryland and 2012 ACC Women’s Basketball Rookie of the Year Elizabeth Williams of Duke headline a trio of student-athletes named to the 2012-13 preseason “Wade Watch” list of candidates for the prestigious State Farm Wade Trophy announced by the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association.

Along with Thomas and Williams, Duke's Chelsea Gray, a 2012 All-ACC First Team selection, was also named to the preseason list. The trio also represents the league’s returning Associated Press All-Americans as Thomas earned first-team honors, Williams collected third-team honors and Gray was tabbed honorable mention following the 2012 season. Both Thomas and Gray were also USBWA All-America selections last season.

Now in its 36th year, the State Farm Wade Trophy is named in honor of the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University coach, Lily Margaret Wade.  Regarded as "The Heisman of Women's Basketball," the award is presented annually to the NCAA® Division I Player of the Year by the National Association of Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS) and the WBCA.

The preseason list is composed of top NCAA Division I women’s basketball players who best embody Wade's spirit from 18 institutions and eight conferences. A committee of coaches, administrators and media from across the United States compiled the list using the following criteria: game and season statistics, leadership, character, effect on their team and overall playing ability.