Five Individuals to Represent ACC on USA Basketball Select Team

April 8, 2010


GREENSBORO, N.C. – Four current or former Atlantic Coast Conference women’s basketball standouts and Virginia head coach Debbie Ryan will represent the United States on the 2010 USA Basketball Women’s Select Team. Current Duke guard Jasmine Thomas and former Virginia guard Monica Wright and Florida State forward Jacinta Monroe were selected for the team, while former Cavalier standout Dawn Staley joins Ryan as co-coach.

With three members of the Select Team hailing from the ACC, the conference ties the Big 12 Conference with the most selections.

Thomas, a first-team All-ACC pick and ACC Women’s Basketball Tournament Most Valuable Player, led Duke in scoring with 16.0 points per game, 145 assists, and 99 steals. Thomas guided the Blue Devils to the Elite Eight of the NCAA championship before bowing out to Baylor.

Wright, who was named both the ACC Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year finished her career by leading the conference with 23.7 points per game and ranking as the ACC’s third-leading career scorer and highest scorer in Virginia history with 2,540, eclipsing Staley’s record. Wright also tallied 6.4 rebounds per game and had 115 steals on her way to first-team All-America accolades from Association Press, the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association, as well as the U.S. Basketball Writers Association, and WBCA National Defensive Player of the Year honors.

Monroe, who joined Thomas and Wright on the All-ACC first team, led the Seminoles to a tie with Duke in the regular season standings with a 12-2 record, and advanced to the Elite Eight for the first time in school history. Monroe averaged 13.2 points and 7.3 rebounds per game for Florida State, while shooting 50.6 percent (176-of-348) from the field, 74.0 percent (108-of-146) from the free-throw line, and tallying 76 blocks.

Ryan, a 2008 inductee to the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame, won her 700th career game earlier this season. Ryan, who owns a 720-308 record in 33 years at the helm of UVa, is a seven-time recipient of the ACC Coach of the Year award.

Her 2010 stint with the USA Select Team, however, is not her first international coaching experience. In fact, this summer’s coaching assignment is Ryan's sixth USA Basketball head coaching nod. Most recently Ryan headed the 2003 USA Pan American Games Team, a squad comprised on the nation's top collegiate players. Ryan and the U.S. posted a 5-2 slate and earned the silver medal.

She was also the head coach for the 2001 USA World University Games Team that won the gold medal, finished in seventh place at the 1989 U19 World Championship and earned a gold medal at the 1988 FIBA Americas U18 Championship. She began her USA Basketball coaching career at the helm of the gold medal winning 1987 U.S. Olympic Festival West Team.

For her efforts at the 2001 World University Games, which included a hard-fought 87-69 gold medal victory against host China, Ryan earned USA Basketball Developmental Coach of the Year honors.

In addition to her USA Basketball coaching stints, Ryan served as a member of the USA Basketball Games Committee for Women and the USA Basketball Women's Player Subcommittee during the 1988-1992 quadrennial, helping to select athletes for numerous competitions including the 1990 World Championship and 1992 Olympic teams.

Staley, who is currently the head coach at the University of South Carolina, will join her former mentor Ryan as the co-coach. Staley formerly held Virginia’s all-time scoring mark, before ceding way to Wright.

The trio of players are the 21st, 22nd, and 23rd players from the ACC to participate on the select team, and first since a quartet—headed by Duke’s Michele Van Gorp, Florida State’s Brooke Wyckoff, NC State’s Tynesha Lewis, and Virginia’s DeMya Walker—played in 1998. Ryan joins former Maryland coach Chris Weller as the only ACC coaches to head the U.S. Basketball Select Team. Weller coached the squad in 1986 and again in 1994, and has been selected as a 2010 Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame inductee.