Virginia's Monica Wright Named ACC Defensive Player of the Year

March 3, 2010

GREENSBORO, N.C.—Virginia guard Monica Wright was named the Atlantic Coast Conference Defensive Player of the Year and headlines the five-player All-ACC Defensive team, announced today by ACC Commissioner John Swofford. Wright was selected by the league’s 12 women’s basketball head coaches and is the first Cavalier to garner the award since the honor was first put into place for the 2004-05 season.

Wright, a senior from Woodbridge, Va., rapidly ascended to the top of the league’s career scoring list this season, currently owning 2,474 points to stand in third place all-time. This season, Wright ranks among the ACC leaders in several categories, including ranking first in steals with 104 thefts in 29 games for a 3.6 steals per game average.

Additionally, Wright, who was an All-ACC Defensive Team selection as a sophomore in 2007-08, leads all league scorers with 23.0 points per mark, and is the only player to average better than 20.0 points per game this season. Underneath the boards, the three-time All-ACC performer ranks 11th with 6.3 rebounds per game, including 4.3 average on the defensive end, and stands second with an 80.7 (151-of-157) free-throw shooting percentage going into the 33rd Annual ACC Women’s Basketball Tournament.

Also named to the All-ACC Defensive Team were Clemson senior guard/forward Lele Hardy, who currently ranks fifth in league history and 21st in NCAA history in all-time steals, Duke senior guard/forward Keturah Jackson, Florida State senior forward Jacinta Monroe, and Miami sophomore forward Shenise Johnson. Hardy and Johnson were selected to the All-ACC Defensive Team last season, and join Wright as the squads only two-time honorees.

The 33rd Annual ACC Women’s Basketball Tournament will take place at the Greensboro Coliseum, will begin on Thursday, March 4, and conclude with Sunday, March 7 with a 1 p.m. championship game.

2010 All-ACC Defensive Team
Name, Yr., Pos. School
Lele Hardy, Sr., G/F Clemson
Keturah Jackson, Sr., G/F Duke
Shenise Johnson, So., F Miami
Jacinta Monroe, Sr., G/F Florida State
*Monica Wright, Sr., G Virginia
* denotes 2010 ACC Defensive Player of the Year