ACC Announces 2011 Women's Basketball All-Freshman Team #ACCwbb

March 2, 2011

GREENSBORO, N.C.—Maryland freshman forward Alyssa Thomas was named the 2011 Atlantic Coast Conference Women’s Basketball Rookie of the Year, announced today by ACC Commissioner John Swofford.

Thomas was chosen by a vote of Blue Ribbon Panel, a group that includes selected media as well as all 12 women’s basketball coaches, to become the seventh Terrapin freshman to garner the award and second in three years, including her teammate, Lynetta Kizer, who collected the honor in 2009. Thomas is also the fourth Maryland rookie to receive the accolade since 2005.

Thomas started in all but one of Maryland’s 28 games this season, averaging 14.3 points and 7.2 rebounds. She led the team in both scoring and steals (2.2). The Harrisburg, Pa., native is also first within the freshman class in three statistical categories, including scoring, rebounding and steals. Additionally, Thomas ranks in the top 11 in all three categories among conference leaders, coming in at ninth in both scoring and steals and 11th in rebounding. A seven-time ACC Rookie of the Week selection, which is a school record, Thomas scored in double figures in 13 of her 14 league games this season. She helped 13th-ranked Maryland register a 23-6 overall mark and finish 9-5 in conference play, earning a fourth-place finish.

Joining Thomas on the ACC All-Freshman Team is trio of guards – including Duke’s Chelsea Gray, Georgia Tech’s Tyaunna Marshall, and Virginia’s Ataira Franklin – along with Florida State forward Natasha Howard.

Gray’s honor marks the second straight year a Blue Devil freshman has been named to the All-ACC Freshman Team as Allison Vernerey earned honors a year ago. Duke has registered a total of 17 different players named to the All-ACC Freshman team since 1992-93. Marshall is the first Yellow Jacket to be named All-Freshman since Alex Montgomery in 2008, while Franklin is the first Cavalier since Monica Wright in 2007.

2011 ACC All-Freshmen Women’s Basketball Team

Chelsea Gray, Fr., G Duke
Natasha Howard, Fr., F Florida State
Tyaunna Marshall, Fr., G Georgia Tech
*Alyssa Thomas, Fr., F Maryland
Ataira Franklin, Fr., G Virginia

* denotes 2011 ACC Rookie of the Year

The 34th Annual ACC Women’s Basketball Tournament tips off at approximately 11 a.m. ET on Thursday, March 3, and will conclude with a 1 p.m. championship contest on Sunday, March 6. The title game, as well as the semifinals, will be broadcast by Fox Sports Net (FSN) in HD, while the 11 a.m. and 3 p.m. games on Thursday, March 3, and Friday, March 4, will be televised on the league’s regional package (RSN).

For more information, visit the official site of the 2011 ACC Women’s Basketball Tournament at Fans can also follow the upcoming Tournament games on Twitter at @ACCwbb.