NC State's Kastanek Named ACC Women's Basketball Scholar-Athlete of Year

March 1, 2012

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( – NC State junior Marissa Kastanek has been named the recipient of the fourth annual Kay Yow Scholar Athlete of the Year Award and headlines the 2011-12 All-ACC Women’s Basketball Academic Team, as announced today by Commissioner John Swofford.

A guard from Lincoln, Neb., Kastanek leads the Wolfpack with 12.9 points per game. She also leads the team and ranks fifth in the ACC in free throw percentage (.825) three-point field goal percentage (.361). Kastanek ranks fifth in school history with 161 three-point field goals. She also ranks among NC State’s career leaders in free throw percentage (third, .822) and three-point field goal percentage (fourth, .355).

Kastanek is also a standout in the classroom. The three-time All-ACC Academic Team honoree has a 4.0 grade point average while majoring in psychology with minors in coaching education and sport science.

ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year awards were established in September 2007 to be awarded annually to the top junior or senior student-athlete in their respective sports. Candidates for the awards must have maintained a 3.0 grade point average for their career as well as a 3.0 for each of the last two semesters. The award is based 60 percent on academic achievement and 40 percent on athletic accomplishment.

A total of 15 student-athletes from seven of the league’s 12 schools were named to the All-ACC Women’s Basketball Academic Team. Duke led for the fourth consecutive year with six selections, followed by Clemson, Maryland and NC State with two apiece. Miami, North Carolina and Virginia each had one representative on the team.

To be eligible for consideration for the academic squad, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.0 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.0 cumulative average during her academic career.

Name, Class, Pos, School Major
Kelly Gramlich, Fr., G, Clemson Communications
Lindsey Mason, Sr., F/C, Clemson Nursing
Tricia Liston, So., G, Duke Psychology
Haley Peters, So., G/F, Duke Political Science
Kathleen Scheer, Jr., G/F, Duke Sociology
Shay Selby, Sr., G, Duke Sociology
Allison Vernerey, Jr., C, Duke Economics
Elizabeth Williams, Fr., C, Duke Undecided
Kimberly Rodgers, Sr., G, Maryland Communication/Psychology
Brene Moseley, Fr., G, Maryland Letters and Sciences
Stefanie Yderstrom, Jr., G, Miami Sports Administration
Laura Broomfield, Sr., F, North Carolina Political Science/Communication Studies
Kody Burke, So., F, NC State Business Administration
Marissa Kastanek, Jr., G, NC State Psychology
Simone Egwu, Jr., C, Virginia Government

ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Marissa Kastanek, NC State