ACC Announces 2010-11 All-Conference Women's Basketball Teams

March 1, 2011

GREENSBORO, N.C.-- Boston College senior center Carolyn Swords earned All-Atlantic Coast Conference honors for the fourth-straight season as part of the 2010-11 All-ACC Women's Basketball first-team, as announced today by ACC Commissioner John Swofford. The accolades are voted on by the league's "Blue Ribbon Panel," which consists of national and local media members, as well as school representatives.

Swords, who was an ACC All-Freshmen pick in 2007-08 before earning second-team nods in 2008-09 and first-team accolades last season, is joined on the first team by two repeat first-team honorees in Duke's Jasmine Thomas and Miami's Shenise Johnson. Miami junior guard Riquna Williams, who was named to the All-ACC second team a year ago, and Florida State junior forward Cierra Bravard, were also named members of the top all-conference group.

Named to the league's second team were NC State junior forward Bonae Holston, Maryland junior center Lynetta Kizer, North Carolina senior guard Italee Lucas, Georgia Tech senior guard/forward Alex Montgomery, and Maryland freshman forward Alyssa Thomas. Thomas is the first freshman to be named to the first or second All-ACC team since former Terrapin Marissa Coleman was named a second team member in 2005-06.

Another newcomer making an immediate impact was Georgia Tech rookie guard Tyaunna Marshall, who along with Boston College senior forward Stefanie Murphy, Miami sophomore forward Morgan Stroman, Duke senior center Krystal Thomas, and Florida State senior guard Courtney Ward, were tabbed All-ACC Third Team.

Eight of the league's 12 teams are represented on the three All-ACC squads, led by the Miami Hurricanes, who tabbed three selections, bringing the program's all-time Conference postseason honors to a total of eight since joining the league in 2004-05. Boston College, Duke, Florida State, Georgia Tech and Maryland each had two honorees, while North Carolina and NC State had one apiece.

The 34th Annual ACC Women's Basketball Tournament tips off at approximately 11 a.m. ET on Thursday, March 3, and will conclude with a 1 p.m. championship contest on Sunday, March 6. The title game, as well as the semifinals showings, will be broadcast by Fox Sports Net (FSN) in HD, while the 11 a.m. and 3 p.m. games on Thursday, March 3, and Friday, March 4, will be televised on the league's regional package (RSN).

2010-11 All-ACC Women's Basketball
First Team

Cierra Bravard, Jr., F Florida State
Shenise Johnson, Jr., G Miami
Carolyn Swords, Sr., C Boston College
Jasmine Thomas, Sr., G Duke
Riquna Williams, Jr., G Miami

Second Team

Bonae Holston, Jr., F NC State
Lynetta Kinzer, Jr., F Maryland
Italee Lucas, Sr., G North Carolina
Alex Montgomery, Sr., G/F Georgia Tech
Alyssa Thomas, Fr., F Maryland

Third Team

Tyaunna Marshall, Fr., G Georgia Tech
Stefanie Murphy, Sr., F Boston College
Morgan Stroman, So., F Miami
Krystal Thomas, Sr., C Duke
Courtney Ward, Sr., G Florida State

Honorable Mention (15 or more votes)
Jessica Breland, North Carolina; Laura Broomfield, North Carolina; Cetera DeGraffenreid, North Carolina; Chelsea Gray, Duke; Marissa Kastanek, NC State.

For more information, visit the official site of the 2011 ACC Women's Basketball Tournament at