ACC Announces 2010 All-ACC Women's Basketball Team

March 1, 2010

GREENSBORO, N.C. -- Virginia's Monica Wright earned All-Atlantic Coast Conference honors for the fourth consecutive season as part of the All-ACC Women's Basketball first-team this season, as announced today by ACC Commissioner John Swofford.

Wright, who was an ACC All-Freshmen pick in 2006-07, before earning second-team in 2007-08 and first-team accolades last season, is joined by six multi-year all-conference performers on the first, second, and honorable mention squads, including seniors Lele Hardy (Clemson) and Jacinta Monroe (Florida State) and juniors Cetera DeGraffenreid (North Carolina) and Carolyn Swords (Boston College), who are each collecting some kind of All-ACC honor for the third time.

Miami sophomore forward Shenise Johnson, who was named Honorable Mention All-ACC and ACC All-Freshmen last season, and Duke junior guard Jasmine Thomas share first-team honors with Swords, Monroe, and Wright.

Named to the second team were guard/forward Hardy, Florida State junior forward Courtney Ward, Georgia Tech senior forward Brigitte Ardossi, Miami sophomore guard Riquna Willliams, and North Carolina junior forward Italee Lucas.

Duke senior forward Joy Cheek, Georgia Tech junior guard Alex Montgomery, Maryland sophomore center Lynetta Kizer, North Carolina junior guard Cetera DeGraffenreid, and Wake Forest sophomore guard Secily Ray were tabbed third-team All-ACC.

Ten of the league's 12 teams are represented on the three all-league squads, led by Florida State, Miami, and North Carolina with two selections each. Boston College, Clemson, Duke, Georgia Tech, Maryland, Virginia and Wake Forest each had one pick.

The 33rd Annual ACC Women's Basketball Tournament will begin on Thursday, March 4 at the Greensboro Coliseum and conclude on Sunday, March 7 with a 1 p.m. championship game.

2010 All-ACC Women's Basketball
First Team
Carolyn Swords, Jr., C Boston College
Jasmine Thomas, Jr., G Duke
Jacinta Monroe, Sr., F Florida State
Shenise Johnson, So., F Miami
Monica Wright, Sr., G * Virginia
Second Team
Lele Hardy, Sr., G/F Clemson
Courtney Ward, Jr., G Florida State
Brigitte Ardossi, Sr., F Georgia Tech
Riquna Williams, So., G Miami
Italee Lucas, Jr., F North Carolina
Third Team
Joy Cheek, Sr., F Duke
Alex Montgomery, Jr., Georgia Tech
Lynetta Kizer, So., C Maryland
Cetera DeGraffenreid, Jr., G North Carolina
Secily Ray, So., G Wake Forest
Honorable Mention (15 or more votes)
Stefanie Murphy (BC); Lori Bjork (MD); Bonae Holston (NC State); Utahya Drye (VT); Brittany Waters (WF).