ACC Announces 2011-12 All-Conference Women's Basketball Teams

Feb. 27, 2012

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Fifteen student-athletes were honored on Monday as part of the 2011-12 Women’s Basketball All-ACC teams, as announced today by ACC Commissioner John Swofford. The accolades are voted on by the league’s “Blue Ribbon Panel,” which consists of national and local media members, as well as school representatives.

Headlining the All-ACC First Team are five players from teams ranked in the top 10 nationally, No. 5 Duke, No. 6 Maryland, and No. 7 Miami. Blue Devil Elizabeth Williams is just the third freshman to earn All-ACC First Team honors and the first since 2003-04. She is joined by teammate Chelsea Gray, a member of the All-Freshman Team last year.

Miami’s Shenise Johnson becomes the 11th player in ACC history to earn First Team honors three times, and fellow Hurricane Riquna Williams was named for the second straight year. Maryland sophomore forward Alyssa Thomas rounds out the First Team after claiming Second Team and All-Freshman honors in 2010-11.

Eight of the league’s 12 teams are represented on the three All-ACC squads, led by the Duke Blue Devils and Miami Hurricanes, who have three selections each. Florida State, Georgia Tech, and Maryland each have two honorees, while NC State, North Carolina, and Virginia have one each.

The 35th Annual ACC Women's Basketball Tournament tips off at 11 a.m. ET on Thursday, March 1, and will conclude with a 2 p.m. championship contest on Sunday, March 4. The title game will be televised on ESPN2, and Saturday’s semifinals can be seen on ESPNU. All eight games on Thursday and Friday will be broadcast on the league’s regional sports network (RSN). The entire tournament can also be seen on ESPN3.

For more information, visit the official site of the 2012 ACC Women's Basketball Tournament at Fans can also follow the upcoming Tournament games on Twitter at @ACCwbb.

First Team

Chelsea Gray, So., G, Duke

Shenise Johnson, Sr., G, Miami

Alyssa Thomas, So., F, Maryland

Elizabeth Williams, Fr., C, Duke

Riquna Williams, Sr., G, Miami

Second Team

Sasha Goodlett, Sr. , C, Georgia Tech

Tianna Hawkins, Jr., F, Maryland

Tyaunna Marshall, So., G, Georgia Tech

Ariana Moorer, Sr. , G, Virginia

Chay Shegog, Sr. , C,  North Carolina

Third Team

Cierra Bravard, Sr., F, Florida State

Bonae Holston, Sr., F, NC State

Natasha Howard, So., F, Florida State

Haley Peters, So., G/F, Duke

Stefanie Yderstrom, Jr. , G, Miami

Honorable Mention

Laura Broomfield, North Carolina; Lakevia Boykin, Wake Forest; Ataira Franklin, Virginia; Marissa Kastanek, NC State; Lynetta Kizer, Maryland; Laurin Mincy, Maryland.