Maryland Leads 2010-11 ACC Wrestling Honorees

March 25, 2011

GREENSBORO, N.C. – The Maryland Terrapins, who captured their 23rd Atlantic Coast Conference title and recorded a top-20 finish at last week’s NCAA Championship, earned the bulk of 2010-11 postseason honors in voting among the league’s six head coaches.

Virginia Tech's Devin Carter

Sophomore 165-pounder Josh Asper was recognized as the ACC Wrestler of the Year, while Maryland heavyweight Spencer Myers and Virginia Tech’s 133-pound Devin Carter were voted Co-Freshmen of the Year. Kerry McCoy was voted ACC Coach of the Year for the second time in his three years at the Maryland helm.

Asper, a native of Parkton, Md., placed sixth in the NCAA Championships and was one of three Terps to claim All-America honors. For the season, Asper posted a 35-5 record, including a 19-0 mark in dual matches. After going a perfect 5-0 during the regular season against ACC competition, the nationally fourth-ranked Asper recorded a first-place finish in his weight class at the ACC Wrestling Championship earlier this month at Charlottesville, Va.

Myers joined Asper in earning a sixth-place weight class finish and All-America recognition at the NCAAs. The freshman from Selinsgrove, Pa., finished his first collegiate year with a 30-13 record. Myers was 11-6 in dual matches and posted a 3-1 record vs. conference opposition before winning the heavyweight title at the ACC Championship to earn an automatic NCAA berth.

Virginia Tech’s Carter made an immediate impact as a freshman, finishing the year at 35-7 overall, including a 21-3 dual match record. After going unbeaten against five conference foes in regular-season matches, Carter was ranked ninth nationally in his weight class and captured the 133-pound title at the ACC Championship. The Christiansburg, Va., native then won three of five matches while reaching the round of 12 at the NCAA Championships.

McCoy, who took over as Maryland head coach prior to the 2008-09 season, guided the Terps to a 16-4 regular-season record that included 12 wins in their final 13 dual matches. Maryland then captured the ACC Championship for the third time in four years, amassing 94.5 points and claiming five individual titles. The Terps posted an 18th-place finish in the NCAAs behind Asper, Myers and senior 174-pounder Mike Letts, who became the second Maryland trio in McCoy’s three years to achieve All-America status.

Listed below is the complete list of honorees for the 2010-11 season, including those who earned all-conference distinction through competition at the ACC Championships.

2011 ACC Wrestler of the Year
Josh Asper, So., Maryland (165 pounds)

2011 ACC Co-Freshmen of the Year
Devin Carter, Virginia Tech (133 pounds)
Spencer Myers, Maryland (285 pounds)

Coach of the Year
Kerry McCoy, Maryland

Maryland's Kerry McCoy

2011 All-ACC Wrestling Team

Weight Class Student Athlete
125 Jarrod Garnett, Jr., Virginia Tech*
125 Matt Snyder, So., Virginia
133 Devin Carter, Fr., Virginia Tech*
133 Joe Spisak, Fr., Virginia
141 Jon Kohler, Sr., Maryland*
141 Darrius Little, Jr., NC State
149 Darrion Caldwell, Sr., NC State*
149 Derek Valenti, Jr., Virginia^
157 Jesse Dong, Jr., Virginia Tech*
157 Kyle John, Jr., Maryland
165 Josh Asper, So., Maryland*^
165 PeteYates, So. Virginia Tech
174 Mike Letts, Sr., Maryland*!^
174 Chris Henrich, Sr., Virginia^
184 Corey Peltier, Jr., Maryland*
184 Diego Bencomo, So., Duke
197 Zac Bennett, Fr., North Carolina*
197 Chris Penny, So., Virginia Tech
285 Spencer Myers, Fr., Maryland*^
285 David Marone, Jr., Virginia Tech

* - ACC weight class champion
! - Most Valuable Wrestler, ACC Championship
^ - 2011 NCAA All-America

Maryland's Spencer Myers