Virginia Tech's Carter, Brascetta Earn Top ACC Wrestling Honors

March 23, 2012

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Virginia Tech sophomore Devin Carter, who capped a banner season by earning All-America honors at last weekend’s NCAA Championships, has been named the 2011-12 Atlantic Coast Conference Wrestler of the Year in a vote by the league’s head coaches.

Carter’s teammate, Nick Brascetta, was voted the ACC Freshman of the Year, marking the fourth straight year a Hokie wrestler has received or shared that honor. Maryland’s Kerry McCoy was voted the ACC Coach of the Year for the second straight year and the third time in his four seasons at the helm of the program.

Carter, of Christiansburg, Va., placed fifth in the 133-pound division of the NCAAs to cap a 36-5 season that included a 5-0 mark in ACC duals and a gold medal finish in the ACC Championships. Carter registered 11 victories by fall, seven by technical fall and 10 by major decision.

Brascetta, of St. Paris, Ohio, came on late in the season to win the ACC championship at 149 pounds and earn an automatic NCAA berth. Brascetta finished with a 10-5 overall record that included a 2-1 mark in ACC duals and one major decision.

As ACC champions, Carter and Brascetta both earned spots on the 20-member 2011-12 All-ACC team, comprised of the gold and silver medal winners at the ACC Championships, which were held March 3 at Chapel Hill, N.C.

McCoy led Maryland to its second straight ACC Championship, its fourth in five years and its 24th overall. The Terps posted a 15-1 record in dual match competition and shared the ACC regular-season title with a 4-1 mark in conference duals. Four Terrapins captured weight class ACC Championships and seven competed in the NCAAs, with one – Josh Asper at 165 pounds – earning All-America honors for the second straight year.

ACC Wrestler of the Year

Devin Carter, So., 133 pounds – Virginia Tech

ACC Freshman of the Year

Nick Brascetta, Fr., 149 pounds – Virginia Tech

ACC Coach of the Year

Kerry McCoy – Maryland

2011-12 All-ACC

125 - Matt Snyder, Virginia*

125 - Shane Gentry, Maryland

133 - Devin Carter, Virginia Tech*^

133 - Geoffrey Alexander, Maryland

141 - Nick Nelson, Virginia*

141 - Darrius Little, NC State^

149 - Nick Brascetta, Virginia Tech*

149 - Matt Nereim, NC State

157 - Kyle John, Maryland*

157 - Corey Mock, North Carolina

165 - Pete Yates, Virginia Tech*!^

165 - Josh Asper, Maryland^

174 - Jimmy Sheptock, Maryland*

174 - Chris Moon, Virginia Tech

184 - Jon Fausey, Virginia*

184 - Thomas Ferguson, North Carolina

197 - Christian Boley, Maryland*

197 - Zac Bennett, North Carolina

285 - Spencer Myers, Maryland*

285 - Chris Penny, Virginia Tech

* - ACC weight class champion

! - ACC Championship Most Valuable Wrestler

^ - 2011-12 All-American