Virginia's Jones Earns 2010 Gorrarian Trophy at NCAA Wrestling

March 22, 2010

OMAHA, Neb. – Virginia 197-pound senior Brent Jones earned the 2010 Gorrarian Trophy, which is presented to the wrestler who pinned the most opponents in the least amount of time at the NCAA Wrestling Championships.

The award has been presented every year since 1961. Jones recorded a pair of pins in the competition and needed just one minute, 33 seconds to do so. He is the second Virginia wrestler to earn the coveted award, joining Scott Moore, who won the distinction in 2004. Jones is the seventh wrestler from an ACC school to claim the award.

Virginia placed 15th in this year’s competition with 34 team points, the most the Cavaliers have ever totaled in the NCAAs. Maryland (29.5 points) held 20th place, while Virginia Tech (16.5) placed 34th and Duke (13.5) placed 37th.

Virgnia’s Chris Henrich (third at 174 pounds), Maryland’s Hudson Taylor (fourth at 197) and Steven Bell (eighth at 133), Duke’s Konard Dudziak (fourth at 285) and Virginia Tech’s Chris Diaz (eighth at 141) earned All-America honors.


1. Iowa, 134.5
2. Cornell, 90.0
3. Iowa State, 75.0
4. Wisconsin, 70.5
5. Oklahoma, 69.0

15. Virginia, 34.0
20. Maryland, 29.5
34. Virginia Tech, 16.5
37. Duke, 13.5
49. North Carolina, 4.0
T56. NC State, 2.0