ACC Wrestlers Set For NCAA Championship

March 20, 2013

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( – A league-record  total of 34 wrestlers from the Atlantic Coast Conference –   including 11 that are nationally-seeded in their weight classes – are scheduled to compete in the 2013 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships this week at the Wells Fargo Center in Des Moines, Iowa.

The three-day event, which opens Thursday and continues through Saturday evening, will see 33 wrestlers compete for individual titles in their respective weight classes. A national team champion, determined by cumulative scoring, will also be crowned.

The ACC contingent includes Virginia Tech’s Pete Yates, the No. 3 seed at 165 pounds, and as well as the No. 5 seeds at 125 (Virginia Tech’s Jarrod Garnett), 141 (North Carolina’s Evan Henderson) and 174 (Maryland’s Josh Asper). Maryland’s Jimmy Sheptock is seeded seventh at 184 pounds, while North Carolina freshman Nathan Kraisser drew the No. 7 slot at 125 and Virginia Tech’s Jesse Dong is seventh at 157.

Virginia drew a pair of No. 8 national seeds in Matt Snyder at 125 and Nick Sulzer at 165. Freshman George DiCamillo is seeded 11th at 133, and Jedd Moore is 12th at 157.

ACC champion Virginia Tech is one of just five teams to qualify all 10 wrestlers, joining national powers Minnesota, Missouri, Oklahoma State and Penn State. Virginia joins the Hokies in sending a school-record number of wrestlers to the NCAA Championship. Nine Cavaliers are making the trip to Des Moines.

In addition to individual titles and earning points for their teams, wrestlers seek to earn All-America status, which is awarded to the top eight finishers in each weight class. Maryland’s Asper will be seeking his third straight All-America honor, while Virginia Tech’s Yates is going after his second. Twenty ACC wrestlers have earned All-America honors over the last four seasons.

For the fourth straight year, ESPN, ESPNU and will combine to air all six rounds of the NCAA Division I Wrestling Championship. All six sessions will be streamed on, which will provide live mat-by-mat coverage of the championships. For a complete listing of the ESPN family of networks’ sports coverage plans for this weekend, please click here.

Please click here for complete NCAA Brackets:

Listed below are the ACC's 34 NCAA participants. At-large selections are designated by an asterisk (*)



125 (4) – Nathan Kraisser (UNC), Jarrod Garnett (VT), Matt Snyder (VA), Joe DeAngelo (NCS)                    

133 (6) – George DiCamillo (VA), Brandon Gambucci (DU), Erik Spjut (VT), Sam Speno (NCS); Geoffrey Alexander (MD), Joey Ward (NC)*

141 (4) – Evan Henderson (UNC), Zach Neibert (VT), Joe Spisak (VA), Frank Goodwin (MD)

149 (2) – Nick Brascetta (VT), Derek Valenti (VA)

157 (2) – Jedd Moore (VA), Jesse Dong (VT)

165 (4) - Pete Yates (VT), Nick Sulzer (VA), John Staudenmayer (UNC), Nijel Jones (NCS)

174 (3) – Josh Asper (MD), Jon Fausey (VA), Austin Gabel (VT)

184 (4) – Jimmy Sheptock (MD), Stephen Doty (VA), Alex Utley (UNC), Nick Vetterlein (IVT)

197 (4) - Christian Boley (MD), Mike Salopek (VA), Derrick Borlie (VT)*, Conner Hartman (DU)*

285 (1) – David Marone (VT)