28 ACC Wrestlers To Compete In 2012 NCAA Championships

March 7, 2012

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Twenty-eight wrestlers from the Atlantic Coast Conference will compete in the 2012 NCAA Championships, which are set for March 15-17 at St. Louis.

Twenty-four wrestlers from the conference automatically qualified via their showings in last weekend’s ACC Championship at Chapel Hill, N.C. An additional four conference wrestlers were awarded at-large berths on Wednesday.

ACC wrestlers receiving at-large berths include Virginia Tech’s Erik Spjut (125 pounds), North Carolina’s Evan Henderson (141), Virginia’s Gus Sako (149) and NC State’s Quinton Godley (174).

The four ACC wrestlers selected on Wednesday were among the 43 nationally chosen for NCAA at-large spots. Please see the link below for the complete list of qualifiers and brackets for the 2012 ACC Wrestling Championships.



125 (4) – Matt Snyder (VA), Shane Gentry (MD), Colton Fought (NCS), Erik Spjut (VT)*

133 (3) – Devin Carter (VT), Geoffrey Alexander (MD), Matt Nelson (VA)

141 (5) – Darrius Little (NCS), Nick Nelson (VA), Tanner Hough (DU), Zach Neibert (VT), Evan Henderson (NC)*

149 (3) – Matt Nereim (NCS), Nick Brascetta (VT), Gus Sako (VA)*

157 (3) – Corey Mock (NC), Kyle John (MD), Colton Palmer (NCS)

165 (3) – Josh Asper (MD), Pete Yates (VT), Nick Sulzer (VA)

174 (3) – Jimmy Sheptock (MD), Chris Moon (VT), Quinton Godley (NCS)*

184 (2) – Jon Fausey (VA), Thomas Ferguson (NC)

197 (1) – Christian Boley (MD)

285 (1) – Spencer Myers (MD)

* - Awarded at-large berth on Wednesday