Beyond the ACCtion: ACC Wrestling Championship

March 6, 2010

Special correspondent Tom Sheridan updates you on the action at the 2010 ACC Wrestling Championship in Raleigh, N.C.

2010 ACC Wrestling Championship

After a long day of heated competition, Virginia (85 points) captured its first team title in nearly 33 years, edging out Maryland (80.5) in second place and Virginia Tech (78.5) in third, North Carolina (44.5) fourth, Duke (28) fifth and NC (15.5) in sixth. Maryland's Taylor Hudson was named the tournaments Most Outstanding Wrestler after pinning bot opponents he face.

The last time the Hoos hoisted the championship trophy was in 1977 under head coach George Edwards. Close calls in the last two ACC Championships had the Cavaliers hungry this season. Maryland edged Virginia by two points for the title in 2008 and 2009, but this year would be different.

Outlasting a talented group of ACC squads wasn't easy. The Cavaliers put themselves in a good position to win the team title by consistently putting wrestlers on the podium to rack up team points.

At 125 pounds, Virginia Tech's Jarrod Garnett took first place with a win over Virginia's Ross Gitomer in the finals. In third was Maryland's James Knox.

Maryland's Steve Bell hung to beat Virginia's Matt Snyder at 133 pounds while Virginia Tech's Brock LiVorio finished in third place.

Alex Krom gave Maryland another first place finish with win over Virginia Tech's Chris Diaz in the 141-pound finals. Virginia's Derek Valenti ended up with a third place showing.

In the 149-pound finals, Virginia Tech's Brian Stephens beat Virginia's Shawn Harris for the title while Maryland's Jon Kohler grabbed third place.

Virginia Tech's Jesse Dong won a close final against Maryland's Kyle John in the 157 pound finals. North Carolina's Thomas Scotton took third with a win in sudden victory.

At 165 pounds, Virginia Tech's Matt Epperly took out Maryland's John Asper to bring home the title. North Carolina got a third place showing from Kyle Kiss.

The 174-pound final was dominated by Virginia's Chris Hentrich who beat North Carolina's Thomas Fergeson handily. Duke got its first taste of the medal with a third place showing by Voris Tejada.

Virginia's Mike Salopek may have won the most important match for the Cavaliers with a last second take down of Virginia Tech's Tommy Spellman that gave him, and the Cavaliers the win. Maryland's Corey Peltier took third.

The tournament's Most Outstanding Wrestler, Maryland's Hudson Taylor, won his second match by pinning North Carolina's Dennis Drury. He won his only other match with a pin of Duke's John Barone. Virginia's Brent Jones ended up in third place.

For the heavyweights Duke's Konrad Dudziak bested North Carolina's Ziad Haddad to claim the title. Virginia's Jack Danilkowicz earned a third place finsish.

When Virginia was announced as champions and the trophy ceremony got underway, the teams hoisted head coach Steve Garland up on their shoulders and celebrated a wrestling championship for the first time in more than thirty years.