NCAA Allocates 24 Qualifiers to the ACC for the 2010 NCAA Wrestling Championships

Feb. 25, 2010


INDIANAPOLIS - The NCAA has announced the qualifier allocations for the 2010 NCAA Division I Wrestling Championships, with the ACC receiving 24 automatic spots.

Each qualifying tournament was awarded spots per weight class based on current year data. Each wrestler was measured on the following: Division I winning percentage; rating percentage index (RPI); and coaches ranking. A threshold of a 0.725 winning percentage, top 28 in the RPI and top 28 in the coaches ranking was established to allocate 284 of the 330 championships field positions.

For each wrestler that reached the threshold in at least two of the three categories, his qualifying tournament was awarded a qualifying spot in that weight class. Each qualifying tournament was awarded a minimum of one wrestler per weight class, which will go to the tournament champion, even if they did not have any wrestlers reach at least two of the three thresholds. NCAA tournament spots for each qualifying event will be awarded at the tournament based solely on place-finish.

After all of the qualifying events have concluded, the NCAA Division I Wrestling Committee will meet in-person to select the remaining 46 at-large qualifiers, which will be announced on March 10. All weight classes will consist of 33 wrestlers. The at-large selections will be made based on the following criteria: head-to-head competition; qualifying event placement; quality wins; results against common opponents; winning percentage; RPI; coaches ranking and the number of matches contested at that weight class.

The ACC has only two weight classes (133 pounds and 174 pounds) that were awarded just one qualifier. The 157-pound weight class received four qualifying spots, and three ACC wrestlers will automatically qualify for the NCAA Championships in the 125-, 141-. 197- and 285-pound weight classes.

The 2010 ACC Wrestling Championships will be held on Saturday, March 6 at NC State’s Reynolds Coliseum. The 2010 NCAA Wrestling Championships will take place March 18-20 at the Qwest Center in Omaha, Neb.


Atlantic Coast Conference
Allocations for
2010 NCAA Wrestling
125 3
133 1
141 3
149 2
157 4
165 2
174 1
184 2
197 3
285 3

For more on the NCAA qualifier allotment, along with the latest RPI and Coaches Panel Rankings, visit