ACC Players Among ITA Regional Award Winners

May 17, 2013

GREENSBORO, N.C. ( – Ten Atlantic Coast Conference men’s tennis student-athletes and coaches were honored with ITA Regional Awards.

The ACC, which has four teams ranked in the ITA Top 25, boasted two region Wilson/ITA Coach of the Year honorees including Virginia’s Brian Boland (Atlantic) and Florida State’s Dwayne Hultquist (Southeast).

Duke’s Jonathan Stokke and Florida State’s Nick Crowell were named the Carolina and Southeast Region Assistant Coaches of the Year, respectively.

Six student-athletes representing three institutions collected individual honors including ACC Player of the Year Henrique Cunha, who earned the Carolina Region Senior of the Year honor and Arthur Ashe Leadership & Sportsmanship Award. Virginia’s Alex Domijan also earned Arthur Ashe Leadership & Sportsmanship Award for the Atlantic Region.

Fellow Cavalier Jarmere Jenkins, a four-time All-ACC honoree, earned Atlantic Region Senior of the Year accolades, while teammate Mac Styslinger (Atlantic) and Duke’s Michael Redlicki (Carolina) were tabbed region Rookies of the Year.

ACC Freshman of the Year Amerigo Contini of Virginia Tech was named the Atlantic Region Player to Watch.

The ACC celebrated another banner men’s tennis season as it saw Virginia win the ITA Indoor Championship and its seventh straight ACC Championship. Seven squads were selected the NCAA Men’s Team Tennis Championship, and 10 singles and eight doubles teams earned bids to the NCAA Championship Singles and Doubles fields.


Wilson/ITA Coach of the Year

Atlantic - Brian Boland, Virginia

Southeast – Dwayne Hultquist, Florida State

Assistant Coach of the Year

Carolina – Jonathan Stokke, Duke

Southeast – Nick Crowell, Florida State

Arthur Ashe Leadership & Sportsmanship Award

Atlantic – Alex Domijan, Virginia

Carolina – Henrique Cunha, Duke

Senior of the Year

Atlantic – Jarmere Jenkins, Virginia

Carolina – Henrique Cunha, Duke

Player to Watch

Atlantic – Amerigo Contini, Virginia Tech

Rookie of the Year

Atlantic – Mac Styslinger, Virginia

Carolina – Michael Redlicki, Duke