NCAA Men's Tennis Singles Field to Feature 13 from ACC

May 6, 2010

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Duke freshman Henrique Cunha is the No. 1 overall seed and will be joined by 12 other Atlantic Coast Conference student-athletes in the 2010 NCAA Men’s Tennis Singles Championships.

Cunha and teammate Reid Carleton will also be the top seeds for the NCAA Doubles Championship. The NCAA announced the 64-member singles field and 32-team doubles field for both tournaments on Thursday.

The singles and doubles championships will be held at the University of Georgia’s Dan MacGill Tennis Complex following the NCAA Team Championships. Competition is scheduled to begin on Wednesday, May 26, and continue until champions are determined on Monday, May 31.

Cunha is the first player in Duke men's tennis history to earn a No. 1 seed in either singles or doubles at the NCAA Championships. The ACC Player and Freshman of the Year climbed to his highest ranking of the season in singles this week, moving up one spot to No. 2 in the country. He has won 18 straight singles matches and is 33-5 overall. He went 19-2 in dual matches with his last loss coming on Jan. 31. He is 21-3 against ranked opponents with wins over each of the other three top four seeds in the NCAA tournament.

Cunha will be one of two nationally seeded players from the ACC competing for the NCAA singles title. Georgia Tech’s Guillermo Gomez, ranked among the top 10 nationally throughout the spring, grabbed a No. 4 overall seed.

Top-ranked Virginia placed a school-record four players in the singles field, led by 9-16 seeds Michael Shabaz and Sanam Singh. Jamere Jenkins and Drew Courtney were the other Cavalier selections.

The team of Shabaz-Courtney was also selected to compete in the doubles competition. Shabaz teamed with now-graduated Dominic Inglot to claim the 2009 NCAA men’s double title. Three other ACC doubles teams were selected for this year’s field.

The ACC will also be well-represented in the team competition, which gets under way on May 14. Top-seeded Virginia leads seven conference teams in the field, and Duke drew a national No. 16 seed. Wake Forest, North Carolina, Georgia Tech, Florida State and Virginia are also among the 64-team field, which was announced on Tuesday.

Below is a complete list of ACC student-athletes who will be competing in the NCAA Division I singles and doubles tournament.

SINGLES ACC Automatic Qualifier:
Henrique Cunha, Duke

At-large selections, listed alphabetically by last name:
Jean-Yves Aubone, Florida State
Tripper Carleton, Wake Forest
Drew Courtney, Virginia
Clay Donato, North Carolina
Steven Forman, Wake Forest
Guillermo Gomez, Georgia Tech
Jose Hernandez, North Carolina
Jarmere Jenkins, Virginia
Vahid Mirzadeh, Florida State
Yoann Re, Virginia Tech
Michael Shabaz, Virginia
Sanam Singh, Virginia

Singles Alternates:
Jaime Pulgar, North Carolina State
Reid Carleton, Duke
Clint Bowles. Florida State

Seeds 1-8:
1. Henrique Cunha, Duke
4. Guillermo Gomez, Georgia Tech

Seeds 9-16, listed alphabetically by last name:
Michael Shabaz, Virginia
Sanam Singh, Virginia

DOUBLES ACC Automatic Qualifiers
Henrique Cunha/Reid Carleton, Duke

At-large selections, listed alphabetically by institution:
Clay Donato/Stefan Hardy, North Carolina
Drew Courtney/Michael Shabaz, Virginia
Steven Forman Iain Atkinson, Wake Forest

Doubles Alternates:
Connor Smith Vahid Mirzadeh, Florida State
Houston Barrick/Sanam Singh, Virginia

Seeds 1-4:
1. Henrique Cunha/Reid Carleton, Duke